My First Spin Class

13 Mar

When I told my friend Ellen I wanted to try a spin class, we both got really excited! She had been to spin class and loved it, and I’ve been dying to try it myself.

I felt like looking a bit cute today, so I threw on my pink Champion top and a matching Sweaty Band.

009

(photo from last summer. Don’t judge me on the hydrangea wallpaper. I hate it too.)

When we arrived, I let the instructor know it was my first class, so she helped me adjust the bike and showed me how to change the resistance.

011

The class started with a warm up and by the time 10 minutes rolled by, I thought for sure I might not make it through the hour-long class. But I kept going. I reminded myself I completed a marathon, and I’m capable of anything!! I think I did a really good job of keeping up and not taking any non-scheduled breaks. The instructor said a few times “good job Andrea!”

When the class was over, I got a few “congratulations” from the long-time spinners, and one man even shook my hand and said I did great keeping up. Way to boost this girl’s confidence!

What an awesome work-out! I left drenched in sweat and headed in to the fitness center to work on legs, arms, and abs. One of the best things about having a part-time job at the gym is that I can watch others and pick up moves that I hadn’t been doing. I did a few new ab exercises, and I’m feeling it now!

Now that almost 12 hours have passed since the class ended, I feel confident in sharing this tip with you if you’re thinking of trying a spin class… get some padded bike shorts! These are a necessity! Another tip- bring water and lots of it!

I will definitely be returning to spin class!

Good night and have a wonderful week!

6 Responses to “My First Spin Class”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) March 14, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    AWE yay! Spinning is such a good workout-I’m glad you were able to get into it. I always make sure to tell new people in my class they did an awesome job. It is always intimidating walking into a brand new class.

  2. Laura March 14, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    I love spinning…and bike shorts are KEY…
    Congrats

  3. Krista March 14, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    I love spinning! I go every Monday night 🙂 My classes are only 30 minutes though. Sometimes I wish it were longer! Then again, sometimes I’m glad they’re so short 😉

  4. Melissa March 14, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Haha, I definitely feel the same pain a few hours after spin class. Padded bike shorts are a must! Glad you enjoyed your first class. I get so sweaty during spin classes and love the intense workout.

  5. Emily March 15, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Wow – I’m so intimidated by spinning classes. I really want to try one, so I’m glad to hear you liked yours!

  6. Sana March 16, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    I would love to take a spin class, I am just worried about my girly bits hurting!

Leave a Reply

