No Excuses

22 Mar

This morning, I woke up thinking I would take another day off from running because I’m dying to feel better. My allergies have taken a lot out of me. But as I was leaving the house this morning, I threw some workout clothes in my bag thinking I’d ride the stationary bike tonight.

I put off going to the gym until 7, and on the way there, I kept thinking I wanted to just drive home. But knowing I should run tonight was on my mind as well, but I had the wrong clothes with me. I find I get very overheated in longsleeve shirts and long pants during inside runs. Oh, and I left my earbuds at home. How was I going to run without music?! In addition, I had the wrong socks!

 

noexcuses1232905058

 

I grabbed my favorite treadmill in my wrong socks and wrong clothes sans music and banged out 2.16 miles in 25 minutes, an 11:34 pace. I learned a huge lesson tonight that I’ve been trying to learn for a long time now. In order to finish strong, you must not start too fast. I started the treadmill at a 12 minute mile and increased the speed slowly whenever I felt like I could. I ended the run at a 10 minute mile pace, and I never stopped! What a way to start Week 7 of Couch to 5k!

I figured if I’m wearing my marathon shirt, there was no way I could quit on something like a 2 mile run!

059

I’m so happy I went to the gym and did something I didn’t even go there to do! And can I tell you how much I LOVE that I’m no longer doing run/walk intervals?! WOOT!

I also did some weight training for my arms on the Nautilus machines.

I logged the run on Daily Mile as soon as I come home, as I usually do.

dailymile

I think you should add me as a friend on there! Check out my profile! If you haven’t checked out Daily Mile, go there now! It’s perfect for recording your mileage if you’re a runner, cyclist, swimmer, etc. I love that I can calculate my year-to-date mileage very easily. And it keeps track of all of these cool stats…

dailymile lifetime

I’ve burned 525 donuts. Haha!

P.S. I’ve been researching tri bikes versus road bikes. You got that right, I’m looking in to training for a triathlon! I’d love to find a sprint tri that doesn’t involve the ocean. I’m a good swimmer, but the ocean is just so unpredictable, and I have an irrational fear.

9 Responses to “No Excuses”

  1. ahlterra March 22, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Being afraid of the ocean is never Irrational. Get in touch with either Rachel or Carly Chamberlain, they both do Triathlons. Carly does them pretty much full time. she might be able to help you out with that. Go through my facebook friends! Best of luck!

  2. Sonja Noskowiak March 22, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Hey Andrea-
    I so enjoyed hearing about your run today. I too am on W7D1 today. It’s in the 80’s here in SC and the pollen is so bad I have been really ill with sinus problems. I did not want to go out and run today and tried my best to think of a way I could maybe do it this evening. But… the more I thought about how long it takes for it to cool off here in the evenings, I decided to get up and run. That 2.5 miles took me 33 minutes. But, at least I can run 33 minutes is how I see that. I am over 200 pds and working on my weight, plus my 1/2 mile track here has a very steep hill I have to run each 1/2 mile, so I won’t complain about the time. I am like you, I try to pace myself for the run and if I can increase speed after the 1st mile I do. I notice the first mile is the hardest of all. This is my 3rd time to do this program and it definitely works. I figure I can work on times after I graduate.

    I’m going to go check out Daily Mile. Sounds very interesting and would be great to keep track of the runs and times. I’ll try to add ya when I get registered.

    Good luck on the triathlon, that’s awesome! And I can’t blame ya about the ocean.

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) March 23, 2011 at 6:18 am #

    OOH girl, I’m glad you could burn some running down.

    I have been wanting to get into Tri’s too-my fear is cycling. I have extremely narrow hips so it has always burned my hips. blech.

  4. draya March 23, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    I’ll add you as a Daily Mile friend!

    Good job at the gym. And Triathalon = scary! (for me at least). Not on my bucket list at all, but I say go for it! And completly understand not wanting to swim in the ocean. Ocean is good for jumping through waves, not swimming long distances.

  5. Emily March 23, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Great job on the treadmill – especially without music or the right clothes! And I’m so excited for you to tri a tri! 🙂 There are so many bikes out there – I ended up getting a hybrid, which has slightly bigger tires than a road bike and I love my bike, but it isn’t for everyone. There are tons of sprint tris out there (it’s my distance!). I’ve never done one in the ocean – the lake is bad enough! Ha!

    And the Daily Mile sounds cool – I’ll have to check it out.

  6. Savannah March 23, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    Good job on a great run! I like the idea of a tri – but I can’t do the cycling. Husband has a hybrid bike and loves his, though!

  7. Danielle March 23, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    I need to check out Daily Mile, too.

    I’m interested to hear what you decide on with the bike. I’ve been contemplating getting into tri’s, too, but I don’t have a bike so I need to either buy a hybrid or a road bike. Pros and cons to both, that’s for sure!

  8. Alison March 23, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Nice 🙂 There are plenty of days I could use an extra shot or two of motivation – I’ll remember this post!

    And I can’t wait to read all about your triathlon training – you’re such an inspiration!

  9. Krista March 28, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Great job on your run! I absolutely cannot run without my running socks, I get the worst blisters!

    I just added you on Daily Mile 🙂

Leave a Reply

