Nage

25 Mar

One of my very best friends, Ellen, celebrated her 29th birthday on Wednesday. I wanted to take her out to dinner to celebrate, and luckily I still had a gift certificate to use to Nage, a restaurant we both had heard amazing reviews about and we both had never been before.

From its exterior, I’m sure a lot of people drive right by not realizing they just missed one of the best meals they’ve ever had. But locals know.

I truly believe Nage lives solely on its reputation among locals. It also has a location in Washington, D.C., so the DC locals who travel to the beach for vacation also frequent the restaurant.

The quaint bar and its staff greets you when you walk in.

The ambiance would be perfect for a date night. The dimly-lit dining room and candles on every table made the dinner very relaxed, and I imagine could be quite romantic.

Like most Rehoboth restaurants, Nage offers many local beers like Dogfish Head and Victory. But we both opted for white wine, an Urban Riesling for me and a Satori Pinot Grigio for her.

We decided on an appetizer, brie and arugula, made with walnuts, pears, and honey. Delicious!

The staff was very pleasant and very attentive. I love how Nage and Abbott’s Grill (both owned by the same guy) won’t bring you your entrees until you’re done with the appetizer. We didn’t feel rushed at all.

I chose the Ricotta Gnocchi with sausage, broccoli rabe, oven-dried tomato for my entree, and Ellen opted for the mac and cheese with English peas and wild mushrooms.

We ate almost in complete silence because the food was so good. We both remarked that we had to slow down and enjoy it, but it was so tasty! There was so much flavor in my dish, I wanted to sop up the broth with the bread.

The entrees were perfectly portioned, so we didn’t feel uncomfortably full. We stopped there and chose not to have dessert or coffee.

We both said we’d definitely go back, and we’ll be adding this restaurant to our list of favorites. And like I said, it’s perfect for a date 😉

Thank you to Chris who gave me the gift certificate for Christmas! This was perfect!

4 Responses to “Nage”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) March 25, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    That place is beautiful. Wow-that looks like so much fun. I have to take a good friend of mine out for her birthday soon too and I’m debating where to go.

  2. Jenn March 25, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Everything looks delicious!! 🙂

  3. Krista March 26, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Yummm that place looks great! That brie and arugula appetizer looks delicious!

  4. Mel @ Mel's Box of Chocolates April 10, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    I love Nage. My husband and I use it for date night. The food is always delicious. Great pix!

Leave a Reply

