Race for Autism 5K 2011

10 Apr

After running this race last year, I knew I had to do it again this year to support such a great cause!

 

 

163741_480663962130_186907592130_6314969_1298034_n

I woke up bright and early at 6 and ate my usual pre-race meal of toast and peanut butter, with the addition of blackberry jam.

059

061

I made it to the Lewes Beach parking lot by 7:30 and enjoyed the scene of a quiet, empty beach.

795

I made the short walk to Irish Eyes, the location of the start line, to pick up my bag and meet up with my mom. It was her first 5K! I was running it, and she was walking it. Knowing the race course was an out-and-back helped my mental well-being because I knew I’d see my mom at some point.

796

I spent the entire time prior to lining up at the start line feeling completely ill. Pre-race jitters rarely attack me, but with 1 minute left before the gun went off, they faded, and I felt completely fine for the actual race.

797

As I ended the Couch to 5K program, I trained myself to start off slow, so I tried extremely hard to stick with a slower pace at the beginning. It seemed to work because I felt amazing! The treadmill must have really trained me to keep a consistent pace. Just look at my splits…

splits

Negative splits, baby!

I couldn’t believe how good I felt. I never even considered stopping to take a walk break. Couch to 5K works!!!

I was thinking the whole time I would PR, but I came close with a time of 34:13 (a 10:54/minute pace), just 49 seconds slower than my PR. I may not have beaten my personal best, but this was the best I ever felt on a run! Plus,I’m 25 pounds heavier than I was then. (This will change soon hopefully!)

798

The post-race party included music and food, but I have no idea what they were thinking with the food options. I loved the bagels and fruit, but hot wings? Really? I’m not one to crave greasy chicken after running. Beer maybe, but not calorie-ridden meat.

799

After finishing, I grabbed some Gatorade and went back on the course to find my mom and finish the walk with her. Go Mom!!! I’m so happy I could share the 5K experience with her. She’s watched me race quite a few times, but this was her first time in a race. Maybe she’ll catch 5K Fever!

I want to recap the rest of my day, but I’m so tired!

This week will include many nights at the Y doing lots of cardio with some weight training mixed in! I increased my cardio from a half-hour to an hour last week, and I think it’s really helping! Plus, it helps that I figured out how to stream TV shows and movies on my iPhone via Netflix while on the bike and elliptical. I’m finally hopping aboard the Army Wives bandwagon.

How was your weekend? Any big plans this week?

11 Responses to “Race for Autism 5K 2011”

  1. draya April 11, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    Good job on a great race.

  2. JoAnn April 11, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    Glad you felt so good during your race and were able to run the entire time. Good job!

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 11, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    Race days no matter what make me sooo tired. Omg. Awesome job on the race girl!

  4. lenniejane555 April 11, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    Great job on the negative splits! That is awesome!

  5. Tiffany April 11, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Great job on your race!!! I have never had negative splits before. I did a 10K this weekend that ended up being 7 miles instead! Then after I was done I had to hunt down water. They had no water at the finish line. Inside they were serving chili,lemonade and ice tea – no water, no bagels, no fruit. This was possibly the worst race ever put together.

  6. DC Runographer April 11, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    Congrats on the good race. Any race that starts near a beach is alright in my book.

  7. Emily April 11, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    Awesome job!! And negative splits even! Way to go!

  8. Alison April 11, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    Congrats! I love to hear a great race story! I’m just getting started with Couch to 5K, I’m glad to hear it worked so well for you. So far I am totally rocking the “couch” part… 😉

  9. Krista @ Journey To A Healthy Berg April 12, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Congrats on the race! Crappy weather, but I’m glad you still had fun 🙂

  10. Cassie April 12, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    That’s awesome girly! It seems like you’re enjoying running more now than just a few months ago 🙂

  11. Penny April 15, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Great Job! 34 minutes for a 5k is definitely respectable. Glad your mom did her first 5k! Lots of congrats and hugs to her.

Leave a Reply

