The Walk of Shame

20 Apr

No, not that walk of shame. I’m talking about the walk you take home after quitting a bad run. Yeah, that happened to me tonight.

I was excited all day to get out and run outside, but when it was still in the high 80s at 6:30, my excitement quickly dwindled. I set out for Bridge to 10K Week 1 Day 3, four intervals of 10 minute runs and 1 minute walks. Four minutes in, I wanted to quit. Five minutes in, I stopped and walked even though I had 5 minutes until my first scheduled walk break. I took a few steps and told myself “you’ll never run a complete marathon if you quit now”, so I kept going. I tried to repeat some of my favorite mantras like “release your inner warrior” and “you’re strong, you’re an athlete”, but after 13 minutes, the concrete blocks that were my legs just couldn’t move any longer. I turned off the Garmin and started the walk home. Sometimes you just have to listen to your body.

Even walking hurt, so I came to the conclusion that the reason for my incredibly sore legs the past few weeks is due to old shoes. Ok, well I’ve known this for a while but haven’t wanted to fork out the cash for new ones.

These will be retired very, very soon!

shoes 2

shoes

These shoes have gotten me through three half-marathons and a full marathon. Since shoes are supposed to be retired after 500 miles, these are way past their prime.

Remember when I bought new shoes for my birthday, and they hurt like hell? I finally figured out why. They’re the wrong size!!! Womp womp. I feel so dumb.

After my walk of shame, I came home and browsed Amazon for new shoes. Since I know the Asics Gel Nimbus 11 model works well for me, I got those, but in the right size! I love the “tango red” color!

shoes 3

Since I had gotten a $20 Amazon gift card for $10 from LivingSocial (or was it Groupon?) and five $5 gift cards from Swagbucks, these shoes ended up costing me only $55. Score!

I cannot even wait to feel the difference of running in new shoes!!

 

I also can’t wait to have off this Friday! Anyone else have off for Good Friday? What are you doing with your extra long weekend? I’ll be packing boxes! That’s right! My offer on a house was accepted!! More on that to come!

9 Responses to “The Walk of Shame”

  1. Tia Lisa Mallard April 20, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Congrats on the new house! Oh, and the new shoes.

  2. Krista @ Journey To A Healthy Berg April 20, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    Sometimes you’re heart (and body) is just not into a workout, but I get it. I hate calling it quits too.

    I also love Asics, I’m on my fourth pair right now! I don’t think I’ll ever buy another brand!

  3. Melissa April 20, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    New shoes can make such a big difference. I’ve run 2 half marathons in my current shoes. They still feel ok. But as soon as I feel the first hints of back pain, I’m going to have to fork over the cash for a new pair.

    I hope you have a great 1st run in your new kicks!

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 20, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    I went all the way home. 700+ miles. Yeah it’s a long story.

    Anywho-I have had my bad share of walks home but I always think to myself if running were always easy everyone would be Kenyen.

  5. Emily April 21, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    Sometimes you need to listen to your body!! I’m trying to learn that myself.

    Yay for new shoes – they look super cute. I love Asics.

  6. DC Runographer April 21, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    I know that walk of shame well. I was out the longest of long runs and I just didn’t have it that day, had to quit. The walk back was awful.

    Asics really are the best running shoes, they’ve always been my most comfortable.

  7. Tiffany April 21, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Sometimes there are those days that you should take a nice walk instead of a run. I had one of those yesterday. I went for a nice walk in beautiful weather instead of forcing myself through a run I knew I would hate.

  8. Devon April 25, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I’ve totally bought running shoes in the wrong size before. It happens.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #FitBlog Planks Challenge « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - May 15, 2011

    […] motivation to run or do any type of cardio activity has been running on empty since my bad run on April 20. Even with new shoes, I just couldn’t get myself out the door or on the dreadmill to […]

Leave a Reply

