The Status Quo

5 May

For as long as I can remember, my life has been about the pursuit of something bigger. Something more exciting than what I’m already doing.

When I was 8 years old, I decided right then and there I would go to school and major in whatever I had to so I could score a job at Walt Disney World. I spent my four years at the University of Delaware majoring in Hotel & Restaurant Management and researching the Walt Disney World College Program. The UD campus just had to get a blizzard on the day the WDWCP rep was supposed to present, so I drove to the West Chester University a few weeks later to interview for the internship. A few weeks later, I was accepted, and I was cast as a Front Desk cast member.

The day following my college graduation I packed up my car and headed to Orlando with my mom behind me in her Jeep.

I spent two and half months working for WDW before I decided I had enough and wanted to go home. I was also having medical issues, and I needed to see my doctor.

But it wasn’t long before my WDWCP roomie, Ashley, told me she was moving back to Orlando the next April. And just like that, I was back where I belonged.

However, moving to Orlando left me in a long-distance relationship, and after 2 years of living in Orlando, I moved to Pennsylvania to be with him.

Then after 2 years of living together with him, he decided he wanted to live in Colorado, and I decided to move to Delaware to be closer to family, our family’s business which I work for, and the beach.

I lived in two separate townhouses at the beach before moving to Milford, the town where I worked.

Last year, I decided to:

  • move to Orlando again, but it fell through due to family stuff
  • move to Colorado, but that fell through too
  • buy a home in Milford, but the short sale fell through
  • buy a different home in Milford, but the underwriters over-scrutinized me because I work for family, so that fell through, too.
Over the past 8 years, I have moved 7 times, and I’m about to move for the eighth time in to my parents’ home.
The point of this post is to tell you (and myself) that I’m finally okay with the status quo.
I’m okay just where I am in life.
I’m okay moving in to my parents’ home because I know it’s not forever, and it’s going to save me a bunch of money for the time I do move to some far off land.
I’m okay working three jobs because I enjoy all of them.
I’m okay with the weight I’ve gained because I know it will come off eventually.
I’m okay with how I look without make-up because I know I’m beautiful regardless.
I’m okay with taking time off from running because I was so burnt out.
I’m okay with running an almost 7-hour marathon just because.
I’m okay eating frozen dinners and leaving my house a wreck because it’s just me living there anyway.
I’m okay being alone and single because going out on ridiculously bad dates is a waste of time, and I admit I enjoy my own company.
I’m finally okay.
10 Responses to “The Status Quo”

  1. Sana May 5, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    I am okay with not knowing what I am doing, and that weight I gained? Well it will find it’s way off!

    So glad to read this awesome post!!

  2. Fruit Fly May 5, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    Oh how much we have in common!
    When I was little I knew all I wanted was to work in Disneyland (I’m a west coast girl, so Land is what I knew, not World). In college I went and did the WDWCP (Fall 1997). I came home, graduated, went back to do a Fall 2001 program just so I could then switch and be full time. 3 years later, as much as I loved the job I had worked up to get into, I missed home and family. So now here I am back in Oregon …. but now I actually make money, unlike at Disney, so I end up going back at least once every year!

    But it sure stays in the blood doesn’t it? I LOVE my memories of my time there so much!

  3. simplyshaka May 5, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Amen to “I’m okay being alone and single because going out on ridiculously bad dates is a waste of time, and I admit I enjoy my own company” I feel like I could write a book about all the bad dates I’ve had.

  4. Kelly May 5, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    On behalf of all the single girls who wish they could tell this to everyone who thinks they need a realtionship “I’m okay being alone and single because going out on ridiculously bad dates is a waste of time, and I admit I enjoy my own company.”

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Theresa @ This is my Hungry Face May 5, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    I LOVE this post. I think that it is so important to accept where you are RIGHT now! Regardless of where you are in life, I always think people are going to question where you are: When you are single, it is when you are going to be in a relationship? When you are in a relationship, it is when are you going to get married? When you are married, it is when are you going to have kids? Etc, etc. Thank you for reminding me to be happy where I am right now 🙂

  6. Alison May 5, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    What a great post! I think I’m getting to a very similar place (and in some instances, can say that I’m OK with the same exact things), but I have not been able to put this into words so eloquently. Thank you.

    I had been wondering what was happening with your new house, and I’m sorry that things didn’t quite work out but you’re right — it is all OK! I have lived on my own since college and at this point…I kind of wish I had moved back home for a bit. It really is such a smart thing (especially in this economy). My brother is finally moving out after 10 years at home, and I keep joking to my mom that I am moving back in. She laughs, but I am a little serious!

    Reading your post, I am super impressed with with all of the things that you’ve done, or wanted to do, or tried to do. You’re living your life! That’s what this time is all about. Try things, change your mind, make a new plan. I truly think this is the only way to find out what really makes you happy.

    Thanks for sharing…can’t wait to follow along on your next adventure!

  7. Mindy May 5, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    I love, love, love this post!!

  8. Emily May 10, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Amazing post!! Acceptance of where life has taken you (or not taken you) can be hard. Really well written post.

  9. Stephanie @ StephSnacks May 13, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    This post really resonated with me – I think it is very freeing and wonderful to be able to just be okay with everything, especially with yourself. We have to be kind to ourselves, and sometimes, we really have to be reminded of that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Small Adjustments « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - August 30, 2011

    […] May, I wrote this post about how I’ve lived my life always in the pursuit of something bigger, but I had finally […]

Leave a Reply

