#FitBlog Planks Challenge

15 May

Since my plank has been embarrassingly bad in yoga class lately, I thought I’d join this awesome challenge, brought to us by the wonderful ladies of #fitblog.

You can find all of the details here. I did my pre-challenge test tonight to see where my starting point is, and I could do 60 seconds on my elbows. I’m starting on my elbows because my wrists are pretty weak. My goal by the end of 6 weeks is to go 2 minutes on my hands.

Other Random Things Going On

I splurged on a Kindle!!!

010

I’ve already read two books, and I’ve only had it for 6 days. I’m usually not a reader, and when I do read, it’s a couple of pages at a time, so it takes me forever to read a book. I’ve finished Sparks Fly and The Wonder Wizard of Oz. If you’re looking for a really quick romance read, then Sparks Fly is pretty good. But the characters weren’t well-developed, and the storyline was too “to the point” if you know what I mean. Like this happened, then this, then this. No real substance. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz was strange. I knew it wouldn’t be like the movie, but there’s so much to the story that the movie doesn’t show. And the movie added a lot that wasn’t in the book. Did you know her shoes weren’t ruby? They were silver. And I never knew there were 13 more Oz books. They’re all in my “to read” list, along with Alice in Wonderland, which I never read as a kid either.

I got the “Special Offers” Kindle at $114, and I think it’s worth the savings in price. The Kindle is cheaper because they’ve placed ads for the screensaver, and there’s a small ad at the bottom of your library. But really, it doesn’t get in the way at all. I actually like to see what the advertisements are. This week was $10 for $30 worth of denim on Amazon. Pretty cool deal.

 

My motivation to run or do any type of cardio activity has been running on empty since my bad run on April 20. Even with new shoes, I just couldn’t get myself out the door or on the dreadmill to run. My heart hasn’t been in it, so I didn’t force it. I’ve just been doing yoga on Thursday nights, and I teach swim lessons for 3.5 hours every Saturday. But today was too beautiful not to go outside. When I was thinking “I should go walk 3 miles,” I didn’t want to do it. So I made a deal with myself to complete 2 miles and rock them out. Two miles didn’t sound too bad, and something is better than nothing, right? About halfway through, a woman passing me in a car yelled out “you go, girl!” It really pushed me along! The first mile was around 15:40, but the second mile was around 14:30. Not too bad for walking, eh?

 

Well, I feel a sore throat coming on (thanks to my walk outside!), so a hot tea is steeping… made with Mad Tea Party Blend from Disney World and my Tuffy Steeper for loose tea leaves. The tea is a blend of Indian black teas, ginger peach, and apricot flavors. Delicious! Get it if you find it in Disney World!

014

Are you doing the plank challenge? If so, let me know so I can follow your progress!
Have a great weekend!

12 Responses to “#FitBlog Planks Challenge”

  1. Grant May 15, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Nice work on the planks and going after the two miles!

  2. Becca@Start Over From Scratch May 15, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    You Go Girl!!! Good luck with the planks challenge! You can do it!!

  3. Emily May 15, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Wow, a plank challenge!! Impressive. Mine is so bad. Hm, maybe I need to do this challenge as well. And yay for a Kindle!! I just got one as well and I’m loading it up right now before I go out of town.

  4. Mindy May 15, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    I’m super excited for the planks challenge – good luck to you!!

  5. Heather May 16, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    I am going to check out that plank challenge – sounds like something right up my alley.

    I have been wanting to buy a kindle – I love the idea, except that I can get books for free at the library…except I hate having to renew them AND waiting for them to come off reserve…such decisions.

    • runeatdatesleep May 16, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      My library has the most dated books ever. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a recently published book in there.

  6. Cara @ ChicMeetsHealthy May 17, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    I am definitely starting the plank challenge! I want to get my mom a kindle for her birthday! They are the best for vacations!

  7. ahlterra May 18, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    Kindle is the best thing. I got one just before moving to kiwiland. If you’re anything like me and love reading the OLD classics, there is a list on amazon of older books, and some odd ones, that are free. I’ve got over 200 books on mine right now and about 7/8 of them were free.

    Good luck on that plank challenge! And way to go on the 2 miles! You really do Go Girl!

  8. Jenny @ Fitness Healthandfood May 26, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    I have heard of this plank challenge and I’m going to have to check it out. I love planks especially doing rotating side planks with push-ups, they work your core, shoulder, and chest 🙂

    Awesome job getting outside for you walk. it’s definitely hard to get back into activity when you’ve been out of it for a while. That’s why it’s so nice to have the warm weather and sunshine back to motivate us! 🙂

  9. Errign May 28, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    I’m not officially doing the plank challenge, but I am working on holding myself in plank longer.

    I just came over to say: CRIMINAL MINDS woooo!

  10. Dominique May 31, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    I LOVE that Disney tea!!!!

  11. Lauren @ Team Giles May 31, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    I really should’ve jumped on the plank wagon. I did three 30 second planks the other day and I thought my body was going to snap in two! Sheesh!

    Take care of that throat girl, no time for sickness. Drink lots of H2O and all that other good stuff! 🙂

Leave a Reply

