Cross Training at its Best

6 Jun

I’ve been teaching swim lessons every Saturday morning from 8:30-11:30 to kids ages 3-12. I have only two weeks left of teaching the kids, but I’ve enjoyed every minute of it. A few of the kids were nervous and scared, and even screamed, the very first week. But they’ve built a trust in me, and they’ve all progressed tremendously. I distinctly remember moments of swim lessons when I was 4 or 5, and it makes me feel awesome to be able to make a difference in their lives.

In the past month or so, I’ve been slacking on my running, but only because I’ve felt so heavy. And it’s been so hot out! So, I’ve tried my hardest to get some cross-training in through walking, weight lifting, and yoga. Although three hours in the pool seems like it would be enough of a work-out, I’ve been trying to add a half-hour of cardio at the end to boost my heart rate. Last week, it was a fast walk with an incline on the treadmill, but this Saturday, I spent the half-hour doing laps. I did mostly kicks, but I did a few laps of butterfly and backstroke, and I even got a few compliments from fellow swimmers on my butterfly. In total, I swam 750 yards.

When I was in high school, the school formed a swim team in my senior year, and I usually swam backstroke and butterfly in meets. I never thought my butterfly was actually any good, so it felt really nice to hear some compliments.

high school swim team

(see me? Third row, fourth from the left.)

Backstroke was always my thing. Even when I was on the country club’s swim team when I was 10-12, the coach always referred to me as her backstroker.

backstroke

Also in my senior year yearbook was this gem…

baby

Wasn’t I a cutie?!

 

I have 17 weeks until the Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon (which I haven’t signed up for yet), so if I’m not running, I need to do be doing more swimming and other things. I need to get back on that pavement and start running again!

 

Don’t forget to enter to win my Stonyfield giveaway!

2 Responses to “Cross Training at its Best”

  1. Michelle @ Crazy*Running*Legs June 6, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    I haven’t signed up for Wine & Dine yet either (I’m going to do the relay with my hubby). Not sure why I keep procrastinating on that 🙂

    Maybe I’ll hire you to teach my kids to swim! They need lessons badly (at least B does).

    Glad you are blogging agin!

  2. Laura June 6, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    OMG that picture!! I miss being able to eat anything I wanted because swim practice cancelled out everything. I wish I lived closer to a pool now so I could get some laps in. Teaching swim lessons sounds fun – good for you!

Leave a Reply

