Igniting the Fire

9 Jun

Before I get to the “meat and potatoes” of this post, I wanted to announce the winner of my Stonyfield giveaway! Congratulations to Katie!

stonyfield random generator

stonyfield winner

Katie, please email me at runeatdatesleep @ gmail.com with your address so Stonyfield can send out your package!

****************

On Sunday, I got a great email from Amazon advertising “The Spark” for only $1.99 on the Kindle, and I jumped all over it since it was already on my wish list.

 

the-spark

The Spark is written by Chris Downie, the creator of SparkPeople.  I have to say that I was slightly disappointed with Part I, which is really all about the author. I was ready to jump right in to the “plan”. Almost 45% of the book is Part I, but stick with it! I’m now in to the first part of the 28-Day Plan, which is the Fast Break. There are 6 steps in this part of the plan.

1. Write Down Your Fast Break Goals– pick 3 small, achievable goals you can easily accomplish in at least 5 out of the next 7 days.

2. Plan Your Spark Time- plan time throughout the day to track your nutrition, exercise, pack lunches, etc. Failing to plan = planning to fail, right?

3. Reaffirm Your Focus- write down your goals and focus on them!

4. Set Up Shop- Don’t make this hard for yourself! Prepare meals ahead of time, keep your workout clothes ready in the car, keep snacks in your car. This is also the time to post a “before” photo on your Spark Page or on your blog.

5. Choose 2 Rewards- One reward for finishing the first week of Fast Break and another reward for finishing the 28-day plan.

6. Track Your Food for Three Days

My Fast Break Goals (starting tomorrow, Friday June 10th)

  1. Drink 64 ounces of water every day
  2. Blog 5-7 days this week
  3. Do at least 30 minutes of cardio 5 days this week.

How I Plan to Plan My Spark Time

  1. I’m going to put together my “gym bag” the night before.
  2. I’m going to track my nutrition during my lunch hour and when I get home in the evening.

Reaffirming My Goals

Set Up Shop

I’m in the middle of a move, so as soon as I’m settled in my new place, I will set up shop! But for now, here are my “before” photos.

before picture 204

before picture number 2

(I’m obviously embracing the messy hair here. And no, neither ring is a wedding ring.)

Two Rewards

Hmm.. it’s really hard to reward yourself when money is tight. After completing the first week of Fast Track, I’ll purchase a new book for the Kindle. For completing the 28-day plan, I’ll get a pedicure and eye brow wax.

 

I’m really excited to read more of The Spark!

3 Responses to “Igniting the Fire”

  1. Emily June 9, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    I really admire your goals!! I do so much better when I pack my gym bag the night before. Like right now I really should be packing my swim bag so I can swim in the morning, but instead I’m watching TV! 🙂

  2. Alison @ The Peacock Diaries June 9, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    This is an interesting plan! I am not really that familiar with The Spark, but it turns out that I have used some of these techniques myself when I was trying to establish new healthy habits. The reward part is always appealing to me 🙂

    I think your goals sounds great, especially the part about blogging 5-7 times this week (I’m selfish, I know!)…but now that I see just how time consuming blogging is, I understand that goal requires a big commitment!

    PS — That pose in pic 1 is way fierce — love it!

  3. Katie R June 10, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    Andrea, I just emailed you regarding the giveaway. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

