Small Victories

13 Jun

It’s only four days in to my Spark People venture (I’m tired of the word “journey”. We are hereby using “venture” now, mkay?), and I feel absolutely invigorated! It’s amazing how following a new healthy lifestyle can do for all parts of your life- sleep, general happiness, outlook on life, etc.

I woke up this morning feeling exhilarated, even after 4 hours of sleep. For some reason, the meditation app wasn’t helping at all last night. I was too wound up!

I woke up feeling pretty.

 

I felt strong.

(Did you know your arms are the quickest thing to tone on your body?)

Since Friday, I’ve lost 4.2 pounds! I’ve been sticking with my goals I set last Thursday evening. And I completed my “task” I set for myself for today- a 4 mile walk/run.

It felt sooo good to be out on the road again! I hadn’t ran since mid-April. I had told myself to just do 4 miles one way or another, but I immediately set my goal of doing 2/2 intervals, and I didn’t give up. Every time I think of stopping in any workout, I think to myself “You won’t be a better marathoner if you quit.” It works like a charm!

Now I’m sore, exhausted, and hungry!

Tomorrow will be all about the stationary bike.

Now to see if Ashley is still pining over Bentley. Homegirl needs to get over herself!

3 Responses to “Small Victories”

  1. Brandy Doorman June 13, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    You are looking mighty fine! πŸ™‚ Would you be willing to lend me The Spark?? I need something to light a spark under my ass to get with the program! πŸ™‚

  2. simplyshaka June 13, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    I love that you call her homegirl, I call guys and girls homeboy and homegirl all the time! So over the word journey as well so I like venture. Way to go on your loss! I have recently been back on Livestrong to track my food and exercise and do so much better when I do that!

    Soooooo in need of my arms to be toned! I’ve been working on them more and can definitely feel a difference now if I could just SEE it!

  3. Michelle @ Crazy*Running*Legs June 14, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    Yay for smal victories! 4.2lbs is not anything to laugh at!

    I was in this inspirational session today that talked about how goalsetting is KEY to happiness and productivity — obviously in ALL parts of life. They don’t have to be BIG goals either – just things you want to achieve. They can be daily, weekly and monthly!

    Great job – keep it up girl!

Leave a Reply

