Jumping on the Running Train Again

15 Jun

My morning started off wonderfully! I played around with my new point-and-shoot, a Nikon Coolpix L24. I was all smiles 🙂

And then BAM! 2pm brought a bunch of emails and things that needed to be done, but I always make the mistake of thinking that everything is urgent all the time. I just need to relax and realize I’m doing the best I can do, and I can only work on one file at a time.

Thank goodness my parents are there to tell me “everything will be alright”. Seriously. That’s what they say every day when I start to get stressed out.

When 5:30 rolled around, I grabbed my gym bag and laced up my shoes with the plan of running on the treadmill for 30 minutes straight, no matter how fast or slow. Just get it done!

And I got it done alright!

After Monday’s 4 mile run with intervals, I looked up a half-marathon training program and realized I would need to start on July 11th. So my mindset completely changed. I needed to STOP walk breaks if I wanted to achieve my goal of running a half-marathon (and eventually a full marathon) without walking. (NOTE: Walking is most certainly okay, but I’m ready to move on to running continuously). It felt amazing to run continuously, even if it was just for 2.51 miles. It’s a start, and especially exciting because I haven’t been running much lately. It’s good to know my endurance isn’t totally lost.

Tomorrow is yoga, and I need it! My muscles are achy!

Time to tune in to So You Think You Can Dance. Who is your favorite?

3 Responses to “Jumping on the Running Train Again”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) June 16, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    Yay for a pain free run. Seriously awesome girl.

    I love my nikon too. I’m kind of obsessed.

  2. Emily June 16, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Love your gym bag!! Yay for pain free running and no stopping running!! I’m with you on the continuous running – I was so ready to move my game up but then I hurt my knee. So now I’m back to trying to be okay with only walking (for now). Good for you though in stepping up your running – I’m excited to watch you train for both the half and full!

  3. Kelly June 16, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    You decided on a camera– awesome. Glad you had such a great run— you rock!

Leave a Reply

