Santa Came Early!

16 Jun

During a recent solo vacation, I stopped at the mall with my very good friend Brandy, and she introduced me to the world of Lush Cosmetics. The wonderful sales clerk set me up with some awesome samples! My skin has never felt so good, so I did myself the favor of buying the products on Amazon. They were waiting on my doorstep when I got home, and I wouldn’t be surprised if some of my neighbors saw me do the “happy dance”!

Lush products are made out of fresh and organic fruits and vegetables, essential oils, and safe synthetics. All of their products are handmade, and there’s even a sticker on the bottom of each container with the name of who made it and when. They believe in buying ingredients only from companies that do not test on animals (awesome!)

I bought three products….

Angels on Bare Skin

 

From Lush’s website:

Our best-selling cleansing roll is perfect for all skin types. Made with finely ground almonds and heaps of balancing lavender, a pea-sized amount will gently scrub away the day.

How to use:

Dampen your face with warm water. Place a pea-sized chunk in the palm of your hand and add water to create a paste. Apply to your face using small, circular motions. Rinse thoroughly and pat dry. For rest results follow with the LUSH toner and moisturizer that best suit your skin type.

It smells way better than what it looks like ๐Ÿ˜‰

Eau Roma Water

From the website:

We use lavender water in our Eau Roma toner water for its gentle and soothing properties.

Rose water helps to retain moisture and is mildly astringent, which evens skin tone and improves its appearance.

How to use:

Spritz directly on the face after cleansing and use a cotton pad to remove any excess cleanser. To tighten pores, let the toner air dry. Follow with the moisturizer most appropriate for your skin’s needs. Facial toners also help combat the drying effects of airplane travel and air-conditioned offices. Give yourself a spritz or two on your next flight or at work, you’ll know what we mean.

Celestial Moisturizer

This stuff is amazeballs! My face feels like a baby’s bottom!

From the website:

Although it’s true that some perfumes can irritate sensitive skin, like stronger spice oils, others are really good for preventing redness and reactions. Natural vanilla absolute is one of them. We use it in Celestial for its soothing effect and intoxicating scent.

Almond milk is wonderful for calming irritated skin. This moisturizer helps to create a light barrier and keeps skin in good condition.

Vanilla water helps the skin to retain its moisture naturally.

ย I am so excited to finally have organic, all natural skin care!
*************
What I’m not excited about is that it was my last yoga class tonight with Sherry. She’s taught me so much about myself and about yoga, and I’m not even sure she realizes it. Because of her, I don’t feel like I need to compare myself to others in class. What I’m able to do is enough. And she also introduced me to guided meditations, awesome relaxation music, and the Simply Being app.
She also introduced me to the double downward dog, a pose I never thought I’d try.
Sherry, if you’re reading this, thank you!!!
Time to go track my food and fitness on SparkPeople! Tomorrow is a rest day… I need it!
5 Responses to “Santa Came Early!”

  1. Melissa June 16, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    I’m so grateful that I live within walking distance of the Lush boutique in Boston. I use a moisturizing bar every night and I also have Karma lotion and solid perfume. It smells soooo good and I love reading the ingredient list and knowing that everything is all natural. I’ve never tried any of the products you purchased, but I bet you’ll love them.

  2. ahlterra June 17, 2011 at 3:46 am #

    I’ve got the karma solid perfume (mygod it smells so good) and I’m thinking about getting the lotion and/or the soap as well. I’ve also got the Herbalism cleanser (the roll like what you have but it’s the green one). LOVE It. I’m probably going to be going to one of the stores this weekend and picking up some more goodies. I figure it’s about time to take care of myself.

    But seriously, karma. Smells amazing. I can’t wait to try out the Breath of God perfume that’s gonna be coming out soon.

  3. Amanda @ There Are 2 Sides June 17, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    I have been obsessed with LUSH for years…I LOVE IT!

  4. Tiffany @ Jump the Dock June 17, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    I LOVE LUSH! I can go crazy in there so I limit my shopping trips. ๐Ÿ™‚ Right now I’m using the Aquamarine face clenser and it’s amazing! I also always use their Ultra Bland and their fresh face masks. And don’t their stores smell delicious?! Ha! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Brandy Doorman June 17, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    I’m now in LOVE with the hair care! We’ll need to meet up again and get you some hair samples! I’m using Rehab and Retread and my hair is so shiny (and no more frizz!). Plus, it smells amazing.

Leave a Reply

