iBurnt

27 Jun

Yesterday was the most beautiful day! Low to mid 80s and a slight breeze off of the ocean… and wonderful friends to share it with.

I started off the day at Arena’s, my all-time favorite breakfast restaurant.

009

010

I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the Hunger Games.

011

Ellen had dropped me off while she taught swim lessons and then returned around 9:45 to pick me up and head to Cape Henlopen Beach. We love Cape because you pay $4 to get in for the whole day instead of feeing a meter, which are now up to 25 cents for 10 minutes here in Rehoboth. What the heck, right!?

013

014

Hello ocean… and hot lifeguard!

015

016

019

020

022

023

Before Cori arrived, Ellen and I discussed politics and relationship deal-breakers. Mine are smoking like a chimney, cheating, and ultra-conservatives. I’m an agnostic, Obama-lovin’ liberal, so it’s kind of hard to be in a relationship with someone so far on the other side of the political spectrum. I’ll date a “middle of the road” guy though. There are more annoying traits that I can’t really deal with, but those 3 are major deal-breakers.

So back to the beach day… I thought I had applied ample sunscreen lotion. I thought wrong.

025

This is the weirdest, most painful sunburn of my life. Like what’s with the stripe down my shin? Last night, I had to wrap my legs in cold, wet towels just to get some relief. I’m still having trouble walking, getting in and out of the Jeep, walking upstairs, and standing in one place for too long.

So tell me… what are your relationship deal-breakers?

 

P.S. I’m still looking for a few more guest bloggers. I’ve had a few people on Twitter tell me that they’ve had really bad dating experiences. Anyone like to share as a guest post? Email me at runeatdatesleep @ gmail.com

8 Responses to “iBurnt”

  1. AndreaClaire June 27, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    I’m with you on smoking being a deal-breaker (although being a BC gal, I’m okay with them smoking pot. It’s really a smell thing when it comes to the smoking and I don’t mind the smell of pot.)

    Political compatability is a big one for me as well. We don’t have to agree on everything (or even the same party… multiparties up here in Canada), but there can’t be too big of a gap between our views.

    And I know this one is going to make me a few enemies, but I say no to any guy who owns a small dog. I’m a big-dog or cat person. Boxers, retrievers, labs, shepherds, etc, I’m your gal. You own a shitzu… my cats will eat it alive.

    Also, are you looking for dating specific guest posts?

  2. simplyshaka June 27, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    I just read an article about the Hunger Games (after wondering why everyone and their mom is reading the series) and I gotta say-it looks good!

    Deal breakers like you are ultra conservative guys. I once went out with this super southern guy who kept saying gays should go to hell and everyone should own a gun. So I had five or six drinks and got drunk so I could tune him out. At least he paid for dinner. Lack of reponsibility and no sense of humor are also deal breakers.

  3. Alison @ The Peacock Diaries June 27, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Oooh, that looks like it really hurts! I got sunburned in Florida, and I had a funny mark on the back of my arm — it was my hand print, showing exactly where I stopped with the sunblock. Oops!

    And yay for The Hunger Games! Glad you like it — I kept going and read Catching Fire and Mockingjay immediately afterwards. Immediate gratification! But now I feel a bit sad…I miss Katniss and friends.

    Deal-breakers? Well, ultra conservative would definitely be a problem. And a guy who didn’t have reasonable manners? No. Please, thank you, giving up a seat on the subway for a pregnant woman…I’d need for him to have the basic stuff down. Also, it would be really hard to date a Yankee fan. I just…I HATE the Yankees. Blech.

  4. ahlterra June 28, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    oh, the sunburn. Try pouring white vinegar on it. It will feel cold, and you’ll smell like a salad, but it takes the sting away. Trust me on that.

    as far as Deal Breakers? I’ve dated them all already, and found one that doesn’t have any, so that’s a start!

  5. Rasha @ PBAddiction June 28, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Ah, that sunburn looks painful! I’ve been lucky enough to never have had a sunburn before.
    A dealbreaker for me would be bad communicator.

  6. Michelle @ Crazy*Running*Legs June 28, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Your poor legs!! I hate it when I *think* I apply sunscreen properly and it ends up looking all crazy.

    LOOOOOVED Hunger Games. You are going to eat those books up!

    A dealbreaker for me is a lack of sense of humor. I’m silly and humor is required 🙂

  7. Eat:Watch:Run June 28, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    I’m gonna need a close up of that life guard please.

    Relationship deal breakers, hmmm. I’m not big on guys who can’t take a joke. Or get way to serious too fast.

    Bad dating experience as a guest post you say? I had an interesting experience once…

  8. Sophie @ threetimesf June 29, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    Wow, everyone seems to be raving about Hunger Games – I’ll be sure to go and check them out.
    I’m also very glad to see that I’m not the only person obsessively checking out every life guard I see…but as a sweeping generalisation they tend to be pretty hot!
    Deal breakers….smokers for me, too. Also, guys with cats (sorry!) or that are too close to their mothers! I like a close family as much as the next person, but can do without a guy consulting his mother on every aspect f our relationship!
    Are you only after dating related guest posts? I don’t have any bad ones I’m afraid…only som hilariously embarassing ones!

Leave a Reply

