National Social Media Day

30 Jun

Happy Social Media Day! Besides having an interest in healthy living, we all  have so many other things in common. So what greater way to share those interests than share other ways we can all connect.

(All links go directly to my profile)

For instance, I’m officially addicted to Pinterest. When you find a picture of something you like on the internet, simply “pin it” to one of your boards. You can categorize your pins by “For the Home”, “Bedroom Ideas”, etc. I’ve found some really great home ideas…

I also found other people who absolutely love mason jars as much as I do!

If you’re on Pinterest, friend me! If you need an invitation, just let me know!

You can also find me on Yelp.

On Yelp, you can leave reviews for restaurants/bars you’ve been to, read reviews, and check out events going on in your area. I’ve yet to use this, but I imagine I will be using it quite frequently very soon!

Let’s not forget about Twitter and Facebook. Run, Eat, Date, Sleep also has its own Facebook fan page, so please like it!

I’m also on FourSquare.

I used to think FourSquare was a great way for stalkers to find you or know when you aren’t home, but I actually only check-in somewhere after I’ve left. But it’s also good to check FourSquare while you’re at an establishment to see if they have any loyalty programs for check-ins. For example, Arena’s in Lewes has a special if you check in 3 times.

You can also find me on SparkPeople, an awesome weight loss program!

DailyMile is also a really fun way to connect with other athletes.

I believe that’s all the ways you can connect with me! I’d love to have more followers, friends, etc., and I’d love to follow you too!

And now I leave you with some quick social media tips:

1. Always be positive. I understand the normal vent, but if you’re being a miserable person every day, you’re shown the delete button.

2. Social media is a conversation, not something you can just schedule and leave. I’ve gone to some seminars about social media where they advocate doing all of your social media “work” on the weekend, such as setting up blogs, scheduling tweets, etc, and then be set for the week. While I think this is a great idea, you do need to come back and respond to your followers, reply to emails, and have a real conversation with your followers.

3. Know your audience. I know a few mortgage professionals who only retweet news items targeted to Realtors. Only about 10% of my business comes from Realtors, so why target excessively to them? By the way, only retweeting and not thinking of anything to say in your own words is just broadcasting.

4. I’m a big fan of reading blogs on the blog’s own page, not in my Google Reader because I like to see the layout, the pretty colors, etc. If you’re the same way, go read Julie‘s post about the “Next Button”. It will change the way you read blogs.

5.If you’re like to know who your latest Twitter followers and quitters are in one email, subscribe to Nutshell Mail. They also send you a summary of all of your social media happenings. I personally like to know who my “quitters” are because I’ve reached the “twitter follow limit”, and I’d like to know who to unfollow so I can follow someone else who follows me back.

Since today is National Social Media Day, be sure to check out social media events like #tweetups in your town. If you’re in  Kent or Sussex County Delaware, I’ll be at the #tweetup tonight at Abbott’s in Milford from 7-10. Hope to see you there!

4 Responses to “National Social Media Day”

  1. Tia Lisa Mallard June 30, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Great post! I am a firm believer in the points you make especially number one-Always be positive. What you say reflects on your personal and your business personality.

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) June 30, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    This is a great post. I love getting in the social media world. I’m looking into nutshell mail now. 🙂

  3. Kat June 30, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    That ‘Next’ button is awesome, thanks for the tip! Can you send me an invite for pinterest?

  4. Karly July 7, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    Hey Andrea,
    Can you send me an invite to Pinterest? thanks much! Karly on facebook & LJ

Leave a Reply

