Guest Post: Easy Tofu Scramble

3 Jul

I’ve made it to Orlando, Florida today, and while I’m busy checking in to our hotel and beginning to paint my new office, I’ve asked Kelly to write a guest blog since she just recently moved as well!

***********

Hello Run Eat Date Sleep readers! I was super excited when Andrea asked me to be a guest blogger and am honored to be here today.

I recently moved to the South Austin area of Texas, where an abundance of farmer’s markets have inspired me to get creative in the kitchen using fruits and vegetables.  This past weekend I visited the SFC Farmer’s Market in Downtown Austin.  More than a hundred growers gather each Saturday to offer an amazing selection of fruits, vegetables, honey, cheeses, flowers and more.

Source

After picking up some gorgeous bell peppers and broccoli, it was time to whip up a tasty, healthy meal.  This tofu scramble is super easy and full of flavor.  If you are not a fan of tofu, chicken breast could easily be substituted.

Easy Tofu Scramble
1 package tofu
2 or 3 bell peppers sliced thin
1 small head broccoli florets
1 large portabello mushroom cut into 1 inch pieces
1/8 cup Soy Sauce
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tsp tummeric powder
2 tsp cumin powder
2 tsp curry powder

Directions
I begin by patting my tofu dry and then cutting it into small chunks.

Then I marinate the tofu  by lightly tossing it with the soy sauce, cumin, turmeric, and curry powder.

While the tofu marinates, I warm the olive oil in a large pan over medium high heat and then add the sliced bell peppers. I toss them in the oil for about 2 minutes.

Next I add the broccoli, mushrooms, and tofu. Toss lightly.

Lower the heat to medium low and continue to cook for 5-10 minutes until the veggies are slightly tender.  You can add more soy sauce and salt and pepper to taste

To serve, simply spoon onto a plate. This is a quick and easy dinner or lunch that is low calorie and super tasty.  Enjoy!

 

Kelly recently moved from the East Coast to San Marcos, Texas.  She is a Pinterest addict and enjoys blogging, cooking, traveling, and home projects. Kelly blogs over at Simply Kelly and is on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

