The Move

4 Jul

First of all, thank you so much for all of the congratulatory messages! I loved reading all of them on my way down I-95!

My move to Orlando came really early Saturday morning. My alarm went off at 3:30am! The cars and truck were already packed, so all I needed to do was shower and pack my snacks. We were on the road by 4:15.

001

We made it to the Chesapeake Bay Bridge just as the sun was rising. So pretty!

013

015

And then through Virginia

017

But we got stuck in traffic for little over an hour near Quantico where my Behavior Analysis Unit friends live (Criminal Minds, duh).

018

019

Honk if you love Jesus!

023

Next was North Carolina

027

where I made it my mission to find a Starbucks because my energy was quickly fading, and I still had to make it to Jacksonsville, Florida. Thanks to my Starbucks iPhone app, I found one!

032

I got an iced Skinny Vanilla Latte and a turkey bacon and egg sandwich, and I nibbled on some strawberries I already had in the car.

033

This is also where the temperature reared its ugly head!

036

I didn’t take a picture of the South Carolina state line sign because I was too busy staring at South of the Border! This place is fabulously gaudy! Gotta love it.

037

We made it to Georgia

039

and then decided to cut our first day short and stay in Savannah. We had spent 12.5 hours on the road, and this normally would have put us in Jacksonville, but the traffic in Virginia really slowed us down. Unfortunately, due to the holiday weekend and no reservations, we were stuck with a Howard Johnson where I felt like I was on the set of a thriller movie. My phone would ring, and no one would be there. The lights flickered. It was just weird and scary, but it was just one night. My fabulosity took a hit that night 🙂

We were up and on the road on Sunday around 7:15. The road was almost empty!

040 

But I still looked like a haggard mess.

042

“Mom, are we there yet?”

048

It was sometime around 9 when I finally saw the sign for Florida!

044

I always love riding through Jacksonville. It’s so pretty!

046

About an hour and a half after that, I finally saw signs for I-4 and Orlando!

052

By noon, we were checking in to our hotel and heading over to Celebration for some lunch!

(this is the town sign. I didn’t get close enough)

054

We parked near the downtown area and walked over to the Market Street Cafe.

055

056

059

I ordered the tuna salad in a pita. Very delicious, but I think I would have added slices of cucumber.

060

We walked around the Farmers Market for a little while. I simply cannot even wait to walk down to the Farmers Market every Sunday!

061

063

064

067

My keys were being held at Remax, which was a short walk from the Farmers Market. I love how they set up their front porch area!

065

I was holding keys to my own place in Celebration, Florida! Oh, the excitement! I almost cried, but I held back. It was then time to go check it out. I was very apprehensive because it was a filthy mess the last time I saw it. Luckily, it shined up like a brand new penny!

068

Would you like a tour?

069

081

The kitchen, dining room, and living area is all one big space. Love it!

073

The master is right off of the living room.

070

With a big walk-in closet

072

And master bathroom

071

The laundry area, guest bath, and second bedroom (my office) is off of the kitchen.

075 

I was going to paint it a light blue, but after driving for so long, unpacking my Jeep and mom’s Jeep, and thinking about unpacking everything else, the thought of painting exhausted me. It might be painted later. We’ll see.

After checking out the apartment and unpacking the Jeeps, we thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing dip in the pool. It’s circular and has zero-entry. Me gusta.

100

It was 7:45 before we decided to head over to Disney’s Yacht and Beach Club Resorts for dinner and dessert! It only took us 5 minutes before we saw the Disney entrance. My dad was amazed that I would be living so close!

083

084

We checked out Beaches and Cream for dinner, but the wait was too long, so we decided on the Beach Club’s Marketplace to pick up a few sandwiches, and I had a BBQ Chicken Flatbread. Pretty tasty! Since Epcot’s fireworks were scheduled to start 15 minutes later, we grabbed some chairs by the water and waited for them to start. The view from our chairs was just so pretty! While sitting there, we were able to watch Epcot’s Illimunations and Hollywood Studios’ Fantasmic. Perfect!

092

(I need a tripod to take nighttime pictures. I know this)

After the shows were over, we decided to go back to Beaches and Cream for take-out. We all got one scoop of ice cream each.

089

Waffle cone tables.. hehehe 🙂

088

090

So far, this morning (Fourth of July) has included laying around and eating breakfast.

098

094

The continental breakfast is a basket of pastries

095

so we each added extra. I got one egg, toast, and a side of sausage.

096

Today’s plan includes more laying around poolside and an evening in Celebration for a “Flashback 4th of July” complete with an 80s prom and live music.

124304thJulylogo-540x571

Have a happy Fourth!

10 Responses to “The Move”

  1. Dina@DinaRuns July 4, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    I love Celebration and go running there all the time. Congrats on your new place!

  2. Alison @ The Peacock Diaries July 4, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I am 95% super excited for you, 5% jealous…seriously, sounds like an AMAZING trip so far (HoJo’s notwithstanding). Your place looks fantastic — have fun at the prom and happy unpacking!

  3. Liz @ Something To Chew On July 4, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Congratulations on the move again! Your place looks fantastic! I want that walk in closet – and to live in Florida 🙂 haha Happy 4th!

  4. sarah July 4, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I must of missed a post that you wrote saying you were moving?

    Congrats, love the pool!

  5. funkyryan July 4, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    I’m glad you made it home safely! If you haven’t eaten at Kouzzina (Cat Cora’s restaurant on the Boardwalk) I highly recommend it.

  6. Jennifer July 4, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Oh, I know that complex, it’s beautiful! Walkable to town too, which you will love, especially during events like for instance, the 4th, when the traffic is nuts. I was there tonight…..very crowded, but it’s always worth it.

  7. Emily July 4, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    Glad you made it safely!! Love your walk-in closet and your shower!!

  8. Jenn July 5, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    The house is beautiful!! Congrats again! 🙂 I second what funkyryan said, def eat at Kouzzina asap! Breakfast and dinner are fabulous. 🙂 Let the fun begin!

  9. Kerry @ Half Healthy, Half Nuts July 5, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    Welcome to Orlando!! I used to live in Celebration, so I am super envious of your new digs! Celebration is THE best running spot ever – so many trails and places to explore. You’re going to LOVE it!!

  10. Tiffany Ziegenhorn O'Connell July 6, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    You really kept quiet about this! I thought you were buying a house where you were living but little did we know you bought a condo in Celebration! Congrats on the big move I know you have been wanting to move for a while now. Now in the winter I am going to be super jeolous of you!

Leave a Reply

