The Last Few Days

9 Jul

The last few days have been a whirlwind of unpacking, dining, going to Disney parks, and saying goodbye.

The last time I wrote, it was Wednesday afternoon. That night, my parents and I met up at Downtown Disney to have dinner at Rainforest Cafe, one of our favorites.

008

We immediately hated our server. There IS such a thing as over-selling, and she did a mighty fine job of annoying the bejesus out of us! But the food was delicious! I had the shrimp skewers with mango salsa. The salsa even had bits of strawberries in it! Delicious!

001

After dinner, I went over to their resort, the Hilton Bonnet Creek Resort, for a quick dip in their lazy river. (This was also where I got to stay for my WDW Marathon) And for our enjoyment, they were playing "Enchanted” on a big, blow-up movie screen for all of the poolside guests. Very nice touch! After a while though, I started to get bitten by mosquitoes, so we called it a night.

The next morning, we were off to Animal Kingdom!

010

017

020

We picked up a Fast Pass for the safari and went for a short walk to check out some of the animals!

021

Those are red kangaroos.

035

A sleeping hippo with a bird on its back.

040

Gorilla trying to eat in private while showing us his buttcrack.

Time to catch the safari! They give you this cool guide so you can spot the animals.

041 

053

059

062

071

Then we were off to Rafiki’s Planet Watch, where they conduct research studies like “Match the Feces with the Species”… giggle

079

078

And I met a cricket 🙂

077

By this time, we were all starving, so we meandered our way to Yak & Yeti.

081

The menu featured so many yummy-looking dishes!

082

I went with the wonton soup and pork potstickers.

084

085

Both were very tasty! And the service was great.

It was so hot and miserable out, that we decided to head back for a rest. They went back to their resort, and I went back to my apartment to unpack some more. The plan was to meet up later for an evening in Epcot. We had reservations for the Rose & Crown, a restaurant I hadn’t been to yet. Unfortunately, a bad rainstorm kept us in for the evening, which made me so sad because this was our only planned day in the parks, and I was hoping my parents could enjoy more time at Disney while they were here.

My evening wasn’t completely void of fun. I had a date. We had met on match a few weeks ago, and we were both excited to meet each other. He came over to watch a movie with me, and it was very blah. When he left, I told myself I wouldn’t be upset if he never called or texted again. And he hasn’t. No big deal.

On Friday, I was finally able to register for the Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon, but by the time I could get online, it was sold out. Huge bummer! I’m going to call Run Disney about volunteering for the race, and then I’m going to look up other half marathons in the area. Any suggestions? I don’t want to have to travel too far and have to pay for hotel reservations as well.

My parents came over that day to Celebration to spend some time in town. But the first order of business was getting my town ID. In Town Hall, I found this awesome model of the town.

087

My dad relaxed in his favorite spot by the water

088

while my mom and I mosied around the little shops. We lunch again at the Market Street Cafe, and then my mom and I made the drive to Menchie’s, a great fro-yo place near Universal.

Pick a yogurt flavor

093

and add some toppings

091

092

Ta-da! Cake batter and neopolitan fro-yo with raspberry chocolate cups, strawberries, brownies, Reese’s pieces, and hot fudge. Nom!

090

It was getting to be 4, the time when the next Comcast person was supposed to show up to install my service. The first guy couldn’t do it on Tuesday because my apartment complex has a locked utility closet. This tech, who was a woman actually, informed me that they need to have someone come out who is an “in-house” tech, and those guys have the keys to the utility closets. The tech called her boss and her boss said he was requesting a tech come out today (Saturday) between 9am-12 noon, and he put a “rush” on it and said that I absolutely need service asap because I work from home and depend on the internet. No one showed up this morning after all, so I called Comcast and demanded I get an appointment today. They said local dispatch would call me with the next available appointment. That was at noon. Six hours later, no call. UGH! Thankfully, a very gracious, unknowing neighbor is letting me borrow some internet 🙂

But anyway, after the tech left on Friday, I met my parents for our dining reservation at the Grand Floridian Cafe.

106

104

I ordered the Shrimp and Penne Pasta. I was a little nervous about the cream sauce being too rich, but it was just right! (Back to normal, healthy eating soon!)

102

After dinner, we grabbed some seats out on the water facing the Polynesian. What a beautiful, purple sky that night!

108

Since it was our last night together, we stayed in the lobby for a bit and talked about everything… the move, my future, our family company, and reflected on the past week.

094

121

119

God, I’ll miss them! I only let out a few tears in front of them, but once I got in the Jeep, I sobbed. I was feeling such a mix of emotions… absolute happiness because I’m finally where I want to be and sheer sadness for saying goodbye to my parents, my best friends. I know I’ll see them a lot, and that I’ll talk to them every day. But it still hurts to see them walk away.

The sad feeling has drifted to today as well. I can’t shake it. With the Comcast fiasco, not being able to find some of my things, and being all alone, I can’t help but feel down. I know it will subside. I think I need a dog.

But anyway, after waiting around for Comcast, I decided to truck myself over to Celebration Fitness Centre. Their Facebook was advertising a special for Celebration residents- Fridays and Saturdays all summer are free! I was wanting to check that gym out anyway, and now I had a good (FREE) reason to go! It was a little intimidating being the “new” person, but I realized everyone is new at some point. The first pieces of equipment I tried were old and rinky-dinky. I started missing the Y at home. But then I found some more high-tech pieces of equipment with TVs built-in, and you could even play games on the screen to pass the time. I lasted about 30 minutes before I went to check out the lap pool. I believe there’s 5 lanes, and they’re all one depth (about 4.5 feet), which is great because I have an irrational fear of seeing the bottom of a deep pool with goggles on. I know I used to be a lifeguard and a swim lesson teacher, but that’s my big fear.

Well friends, that’s what’s been going on for the past few days. It’s been a big heap of excitement,sadness, and disappointments, but there are bigger problems in the world, right? I’m living where I should be, and I’m really not alone. I have a ton of friends here, so I know I won’t be feeling lonely for too much longer.

Have a fantastic weekend, friends!

9 Responses to “The Last Few Days”

  1. Michelle @ Crazy*Running*Legs July 9, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    There are tons of races in this area between September and April (I did 7 last year and furtherest I traveled was Sarasota). Finding another race will NOT be a problem! You should do the Miles for Miracles 15K in September (Paula and I are!). I also recommend the OUC Half which is at the beginning of December. I’ll be in Vegas this year, so I’ll miss it – but it’s an awesome local race and only $40-50!

  2. Alison @ The Peacock Diaries July 9, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    I have many comments to this post (so many stories!)…

    1. Celebration gives out town IDs? What do you do with it? Is Big Brother watching your every move? (this makes me love Celebration even more!)

    2. I have totally missed out on this whole self serve frozen yogurt phenomenon. I think I need to fix that.

    3. Wine and Dine JUST sold out. I decided a couple of weeks ago I wouldn’t be doing it, which was disappointing…but new goal is Disney Half in January. I would definitely love to volunteer at W&D, too — let me know what you find out!

    4. I love the Grand. Especially the lobby 🙂

    5. It is totally normal to have a little bit of a hard time adjusting to a new situation, especially when it involves some distance from loved ones. But the fun and excitement of a new place will start to replace those sad feelings, and before you know it you’ll be feeling right at home.

    6. Lame dates suck. Especially hairy ones.

  3. Jennifer July 9, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Glad you’re getting settled into your new home! You remind me a little of when I first moved to Celebration almost 9 years ago; the excitement, going to Disney a lot and being enamored at how close by it is. I run the OUC half each year in downtown Orlando, less then $50. And, you will have a 10K right there in Celebration in November!! Usually begins and ends at the hospital, and the run through town is just awesome. It’s during Founder’s day weekend….just one of many weekends with fun stuff going on there!

  4. HeatherFL July 10, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    The Gasparilla Marathon and 1/2 Marathon in Tampa is really good. And, ahem, if you ever want to run San Diego Rock N Roll, you have a free place to stay. 😉

    http://www.tampabayrun.com/

    Also, I highly recommend you get the to Tampa for Gasparilla. . . it’s like Mardi Gras, but with pirates and in Tampa. Must do it once, just to say you did!

  5. Michelle @ milesforbreakfast July 10, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    My favorite part about this post? The giraffes! Seriously, I love them.

  6. Emily July 10, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Wow! Your safari pics are awesome! I love the giraffes! And yum – I love frozen yogurt – especially the make your own kind. They just opened a Yogurtland near me, which I really need to make it to.

    It is so hard moving to a new place and saying goodbye and adjusting. But good for you for doing it! And being where you should be.

  7. hipsterveg July 11, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    What about the Disney Princess Half Marathon? It’s right there. The boy and I are training for it right now!

    • runeatdatesleep July 11, 2011 at 5:45 am #

      Awesome! You’ll love it! I did it in 2010. I was looking for a half around October so that it will fit into my full marathon training.

      • hipsterveg July 11, 2011 at 8:46 am #

        Im excited! I am doing it barefoot!

Leave a Reply

