Becoming a Morning Person

11 Jul

Over the past few weeks, I’ve started to develop a natural alarm clock that wakes me up around 6:30. Therefore, I’m taking full advantage of this and hoping I can become a full-fledged morning workout person. I’ve always been envious of those who could wake up early and get their workout in before work so that their evenings would be free.

So on this first Monday on my own in Orlando, I rolled out of bed at 6:30 with no pressing of the snooze button. I was excited to get out there and explore my new town’s sidewalks and trails.

celebration walk

I walked 2.25 miles in 39:30 minutes. I was hoping to get more mileage in, but my right foot was hurting. Ever since I got these new shoes, I can’t quite ease the pain in my right foot. I have almost the same shoes as my old ones. The old ones were Asics Gel Nimbus 11, and these are Asics Gel Nimbus 12. You’d think there wouldn’t be too much difference. I’ve tried tying them tighter and tying them looser with no relief.

Anyway, I got my workout done and got showered and dressed before 8am. I sat down to start work at 7:58… a new record for me! I used to show up to work around 10 or 10:30 (I work for family. Hours are flexible)

So as you might have concluded, today was my first day of working from home. And it was a total success! I got a lot done, and I even took a long lunch break to go to Disney Casting. I had already applied online, but I thought going in person would help move things along. Being a former cast member with a “rehire” status, I thought I’d be a shoe-in, ya know? The cast member at Casting told me I had to apply online, so I told her that I already did, but my information had changed since applying. My address had changed from Delaware to Florida, and my availability has significantly increased. She said I’d be put on a “Re-review” list. Crossing my fingers they call when they see my revised application!

Also on my long lunch break, I stopped at Upper Crust, a counter-service pizza shop in Celebration.

018

I ordered 2 slices… one with chicken and jalapenos and one with meatballs, peppers, and onions. One slice went home with me because my eyes were way bigger than my stomach.

016

Here comes today’s thunderstorm! Have a great evening!

5 Responses to “Becoming a Morning Person”

  1. Amanda July 11, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    It’s so nice to get the workout done in the morning, but it’s so hard sometimes!! Your posts make me miss Orlando! I did the Disney College Program awhile back and absolutely loved it there!

  2. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. July 11, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Jealous, I want to be a morning person (things I never thought I’d say…), but I have yet to make it work!

  3. Michelle @ milesforbreakfast July 11, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    I am such a morning person! If I sleep in past 6 I seriously feel like I am “wasting” the day. Crazy, right?

  4. Chris W. Moore July 11, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Enjoyed hearing about your 1st day. Sounds like you had a very good one. Hope you continue to be successful and enjoy your new life style.

  5. ahlterra July 12, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    as far as morning persons go, I was a night owl completely. Until I moved to the southern hemisphere. I’m technically still on the same ‘sleep schedule’ as before, the times are just different!

    I had to move halfway around the world to get up in the morning before 11pm! Although 7am still sucks some mornings, it’s still morning!

    You sound like you’re having a great time, and settling in alright. You’re gonna be fantastic.

Leave a Reply

