Successful Day

13 Jul

Today, I woke up thinking to myself “today is going to be awesome!” And it totally was.

It started with a 7am swim at the pool.

pool 2

I only lasted about 20 minutes because I was dead tired, but I called it a win that I got up early (to me) and got out there.

My fourth appointment with Comcast was today between 9 and 12. He got here around 11, and I instantly asked “do you have a key to that locked utility closet no one else had a key to the last 3 times?” Ok, well, it wasn’t 3 times because the third guy never showed up! I digress. He said “of course. We all have keys to that stuff. I’m going to tell my supervisor about this.” WTF right now?! I could have had internet and cable last Tuesday!?!?! Comcast is going to get a strongly worded letter from me! Anyway, he was here for 2 hours. The internet didn’t work at first so he tried a second modem. That worked. Then, both DVR boxes he brought didn’t work at all. Someone will be coming tomorrow to bring me a new one. Oh, and they left out the digital receiver I ordered for the bedroom TV. I was also supposed to have HBO as part of my “bundle”, and the tech said it wasn’t on there either. So after four appointments, I still don’t have what I ordered. So fed up, and I really have no other options. No other cable company services this area, and I don’t have an outside area to put a satellite dish on. Oh well, tonight, I’m enjoying So You Think You Can Dance and some lightning fast internet. It feels good. I call it a little win.

Once he left around 1, I scurried over to Downtown Disney to drop off an application and have an on-the-spot interview at one of the restaurants there.

001

(my official interview outfit this week)

After three interviews with three different managers, I was hired on-the-spot for hostess position but decided not to take it as I don’t think that would be the right fit for me.

After Downtown Disney, I treated myself to Happy Hour at the Celebration Town Tavern while I read over the training paperwork for the new job (if I chose to take the job).

salad

A Sam Summer, a caesar salad, and boneless wings.

chicken

All for under $12. Pretty good deal, I think.

Time to head to the home office and finish some work!

How was your day? Any big wins for you?

8 Responses to “Successful Day”

  1. Brandy Doorman July 13, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    YAY!!! Congratulations!!

  2. halfmarathonersarah July 13, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Those wings look delicious!!

    Congrats on getting your “foot in the door”.

  3. Chrissy Hughes July 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    i got home 🙂 after all the delays, thought it would never happen! congrats on the hostess job… that is awesome

  4. Liz @ Something To Chew On July 13, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Cuuuute interview outfit!

    Today’s win is currently happening! I’m in great, FREE seats, about to see Down With Webster. Catching up on blogs while I wait for the show to start 😉

    Congrats on the job lady!

  5. Stacie July 13, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Congrats girlie!! That is super exciting! I work for Disney too! But I’m in Seattle! I can’t wait to use my park pass for the first time! Haha it’s the little things in life.

  6. funkyryan July 13, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I had lots of little wins today. It was a good day, wasn’t it? 🙂

  7. Jenn July 14, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    congrats on the job!! 🙂 you’ll have to tell me where you’re working so I can stop by and say hi in Sept/Oct!

  8. Alison July 15, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Woo-hoo! (About the job, not about the cable situation). I’m dying to know what your paperwork says about The Disney Look. I recall reading the general appearance guidelines for park cast members and seeing things like “no frosted hair”. Probably not a big problem since it isn’t 1983….

Leave a Reply

