Life is Good

14 Jul


Life is darn good right now. I’m in a place I love, doing what I love, and enjoying every minute of it.

The highlights:

  • I’m working from home and still working for the family business, which means my hours are extremely flexible. For example, yesterday, I didn’t have internet until 1pm so I couldn’t work. Then, I went to a job interview at Downtown Disney until 3. Then, I had an appointment at 4 in Celebration, followed by dinner and then grocery shopping. I actually didn’t start work for the day until 7pm. Granted, I worked until 1am because the work needed to get done, but that’s what’s great about working from home.
  • Another perk of working from home= less gas for the Jeep. I put $35 in the Jeep last Friday, and I just put more in today (Thursday). I used to spend at least $60-80 a week in gas.
  • $40 in groceries lasted me about a week as well. I’ve learned the art of only eating when hungry. New concept, right? I’ve been scaling back on the big dinners because I just haven’t had an appetite at nighttime. Maybe it’s the heat? But daily meals are usually smoothie for breakfast, bagel sandwich with turkey and cheese with baked chips for lunch, watermelon for a snack, and something light for dinner like a yogurt and strawberries. I just haven’t been that hungry. I don’t exactly remember how much I used to spend for groceries in Delaware, but I can tell this is significantly less per week than normal. Plus, the prices are lower here. For example, Amy’s Kitchen meals at home would be over $5. They’re about $3.50 here. Sweet.
  • After 5 appointments and the most horrible customer service ever, I finally have cable and internet! I didn’t have cable and internet for a week before I moved here and then it was over a week before I got it here, so I was feeling a little out of touch with the world. You can only do so much from your iPhone. I’ve been frantically catching up with Young and the Restless and The Bachelorette.
  • Like I said before, the gym at Florida Hospital is free for Celebration residents on Fridays and Saturdays all summer. Score.
  • Celebration has so many cool groups I need to be checking out like the running club, a scrapbooking group, yoga classes, Celebration Democrats, etc.
There’s just so much I can go on and on about. I still need to get completely settled so I have more time to explore and try new things instead of unpacking.
Some downers:
  • I’m so sad I’m going to miss theΒ  Central Florida Blogger Conference. I’m so bummed! But I’m selling my ticket if anyone wants to go. The event is sold out! It’s only $30. Meghann from Meals and Miles is going to be a speaker.
  • I missed out on the registration for the Wine & Dine Half Marathon. It was $165, and I couldn’t swing it for a long time. When I finally could, it was sold out. But I did sign up to volunteer, but I was put on a wait list. I didn’t realize volunteering at races was such a popular thing.
  • I miss my parents 😦
But anyway, to end on a positive note, it’s time to watch four whole hours of Criminal Minds!
6 Responses to “Life is Good”

  1. Sana July 14, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    SOo happy you are all settled in!!!

  2. AndreaClaire July 14, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Um, this is just to notify you that I don’t know where you got that “keep calm” from but I’m totally stealing it!

    I caught an episode of Criminal Minds in February when I was house sitting… I’m now caught up on all the seasons because it’s just that awesome. But you already know that πŸ™‚

  3. Michelle @ Crazy*Running*Legs July 14, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Glad everything is going so well for you!!

    I’m sad you aren’t making it on Saturday. BOOOOO! We’ll have to plan a get together soon. I wish I had known I was going to be in your neck of your woods sooner yesterday – I would have tried to arrange a meetup!

  4. Liz @ Something To Chew On July 14, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Love the “keep calm” photo! I have a pink one hanging in my apartment…it says “keep calm and buy shoes”. My best friends bought it for me when I moved. They know me so well πŸ˜‰

    I’m glad you finally have Internet! Woo!

  5. kelly July 19, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Sounds like things are going great. So happy for you!

  6. katielipovsky July 21, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Hey Girl…not sure if you remember me, but I lived with Amy in Orlando πŸ™‚ My friend and I have a vegetarian food/fitness blog (www.peasinablog.com)…send me an email if you’d be interested in guest blogging sometime! πŸ™‚

    katielipovsky at gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

