Return of the Dance

24 Jul

When I was younger, I took ballet, tap, and jazz for 13 years. And then just a few years ago, I took a few jazzes classes and attended two Zumba classes.

After reading Meghann and Katy’s recommendations about Orlando’s Dance Trance, I knew I had to give it a try. Making the classes even better was a recent sale on Sold.com for unlimited classes for the month of August for $24. The site wasn’t working, so the owner Elisa, gave me the rest of July for free and was able to give me the special over the phone. Sweet!

Being a complete newbie to Dance Trance, I chose the Beginner class tonight at 6pm.

018

The studio is downtown, about 35 minutes from my house, but completely worth the trip! I had so much fun! The dances were broken down step-by-step, and having some dance experience, I was able to pick up the choreography pretty quickly. Somehow, though, I think I’ve lost all of my grace. I looked like a runner who got lost on her way to the track. But at the end, the teacher told me I picked up the moves quick and she could tell I was a former dancer.

I will definitely be returning!

I didn’t do much yesterday besides napping. I’ve been feeling really homesick and yesterday just got the best of me. A talk with my mom made me realize that I’ve been thinking that this time around would be somewhat identical to the previous times I’ve lived here. But I realized that the first time I lived here was for the College Program, basically an extension of college. I was surrounded by 5 other females in my apartment, and we were always hanging out in the Disney parks. Then, when I came back just 8 months later, I was living with a roommate and we also spent a lot of time together. Both times I was a Disney cast member and was constantly surrounded by people.

Now, days go by, and I rarely have any direct interactions with people. I’m working from home, and I love it, but I need to get out more. I need to be running, and I’m not.

But the good thing is that I realize where my problems lie, and I know how to fix them. So, I spent Friday afternoon at the Celebration Town Tavern with Bethany and her friend Anne Marie.

tavern

I’ve been slowly working on my 99 Bottles of Beer of the Wall card.

014

When you finish all 99 in one year, you get your own mug to hang on the tavern’s wall. This time, I had the Victory Hop Devil, a favorite from when I lived in PA. The Victory brewery is in Downingtown, Pennsylvania.

016

That evening, I joined the girls of Orlando Women Runners for a game of Bunco, appetizers, and lots and lots of wine! Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures. I didn’t want to be the awkward, new girl taking pictures of strangers :)  Well, they’re not strangers anymore. I’m very glad I went and met new people. We’re all Facebook friends now, and a few of them already invited me to hang out outside of OWR. I think I might go to next Saturday’s morning run.

All in all, it was a very good weekend filled with great social events, a new workout, and old and new friends!

How was your weekend?

4 Responses to “Return of the Dance”

  1. marisad July 24, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    Love your blog! And yes, hopefully you do come to next week’s run–if you want to crash at my place on Friday night (so you don’t have to drive SO FAR on Sat AM) you’re more than welcome…let me know on FB and we can discuss. 🙂

  2. hipsterveg July 25, 2011 at 6:07 am #

    I used to be a dancer too! It’s funny how things come back to you. And yay to Victory! One of the good breweries we have around here! (Although, I have yet to go in person, I do enjoy it at the bars)

  3. Eat: Watch: Run July 25, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Did Dance Trance have any guys in the class? My hubs likes that stuff but not when it’s just chicks.

    And remember, you have plans on Thursday night and you can take allll the pics you want. 🙂

    • runeatdatesleep July 25, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      Unfortunately, no men in my class. But I’ve seen pictures and videos of men attending class. He should definitely go!

Leave a Reply

