Things I Learned Today

25 Jul

Some things have been bothering me lately, and I just thought I’d throw them out there to see if anyone else has experienced them.

1. No matter how good I am at responding to emails, Facebook messages, Twitter responses and direct messages, texts, I should never expect others to be so responsive. I’ve given up hope on hearing anything from one person, and I’ve been waiting weeks to hear back about something else.

2. I’m not wasting my time on giveaways anymore… hosting them and entering them. I’ve won quite a few blog giveaways, and I’ve only received one of them (thank you, Leslie).

3. I spent quite  a few hours debating over email with one cruel, condescending realtor. And then I found her Facebook. She’s all PRAISE JESUS, and oh, she hates gay people and the thought of them marrying. Don’t pretend to be something you’re not, lady. I’m surprised she even agreed to work with our black clients. Lesson learned- don’t fight battles with hypocritical people who are clearly not as open-minded as yourself.

4. Boys are odd creatures. Either they are the type who use the same screenname on match.com as they do for the Large Penis Support Group (true story) or they’re the type who just can’t spit out what they want from you.

5. (this obviously isn’t something that’s been bothering me) Never, ever underestimate the power of the blogging community! Go check out The Great Fundraising Act NOW!

Susan, from the Great Balancing Act, was recently diagnosed with Lymphoma. While the Canadian Medicare system will pay for her cancer treatments, she will be paying out-of-pocket for her medications, which cost approximately $5,000 a month. As of today at 3pm EST, almost $16,000 has been raised, and the amount is quickly rising. Some items are reaching bids of over $500. Amazing!

How’s your Monday? Are you feeling productive?

5 Responses to “Things I Learned Today”

  1. kelly July 25, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Oh how I wish everyone was as quick to respond as some of us!!!

  2. Liz @ Something To Chew On July 25, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    I need to remember how others don’t respond quickly too. I’m so good about it…and have to realize it’s not as huge of a priority to others.

    Thanks for the reality check!

  3. Michelle @ milesforbreakfast July 25, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Ithink I won maybe 2 giveaways and got one of them in the mail. Hmm. I’ve hosted a few and have always sent them out asap. I guess it just depends on the person and their motivations.

  4. Maria @ Asphalt Tales July 25, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    Sorry you’ve been having issues with certain people! Hang in there girlie!

  5. simplyshaka July 25, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Well that just sucks about the giveaways. I was thinking about one today– I won last year and still havent received my shirt. And it was the company who wouldnt get back to me about it-quite crappy.

    I am horrible with getting back to people but get quite pissed when they dont respond to me asap.

Leave a Reply

