An Evening in the Kingdom

28 Jul

Now that I’m an annual passholder, I headed to Magic Kingdom last night all by my lonesome. Yes, one can do Disney World solo. It’s actually a lot of fun! Going solo means you get to decide when and where you go, and you can go at leisure and take lots of photos!

Although the monorail is the fastest way to the park, the ferry can be quite nice and very scenic.

004

005

002

Walking down Main Street brings a joy to my heart nothing else in the world can. The smell of chocolate fudge and popcorn mixed with the sights of Cinderella Castle and little girls gasping in awe really warms my heart.

007

008

There was a new (to me) parade going on!

010 

012

015

DUCK!

018

I’ve always said those birds probably have no idea how lucky they are that they live in Disney World.

First on my list was Splash Mountain, but the line was too long,

022

so I headed to the Haunted Mansion instead to sign up to be the 100th ghost in the house. Unfortunately, I didn’t meet their qualifications.

023

026

I was ready to sit down and in some AC for a little while, and I knew the perfect place. Mickey’s Philharmagic is a 3-D, sensory overload show, but it’s so cute and brings me back to my childhood with all of the snippets of Disney movies and songs.

030

029

The tummy started rumbling, and luckily, Cosmic Ray’s Lunching Pad was right around the corner with a fantastic view of the castle.

034

I ordered a turkey BLT wrap, which was decent but nothing to write home about. It was almost 10pm when I finished dinner, so I quickly made my way to Main Street to watch Wishes, Magic Kingdom’s nightly fireworks display.

040

I picked a terrible spot to watch the fireworks. Therefore, the photos kinda suck.

I went back to Frontierland to ride Splash Mountain and Big Thunder Mountain Railroad and then grabbed one of the famous Pineapple Float Dole Whips. Mucho delicioso!

050

I enjoyed this piece of heaven while watching the Main Street Electrical Parade!

058

053

056

073

087

Taking pictures at night of a moving object with a point-and-shoot is kind of tough!

Beautiful, right?

098

097 

Such a fun night! And yes, I did move to Florida so I can go to Disney World anytime I want 🙂

Tonight’s plan is to go to dinner with the Orlando lady bloggers! I’m so excited!

4 Responses to “An Evening in the Kingdom”

  1. halfmarathonersarah July 28, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Looks like you had a great time!!

  2. Victoria July 29, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    I totally did this after the bar, and it was awesome. Very peaceful, actually!

  3. Alison @ The Peacock Diaries July 31, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Congrats on your AP! So exciting — which character did you get? I have Mickey right now, very cute. Though I’m sure the next time I am back in the parks my AP will have become desensitized and I’ll need a new one.

    I have done a few solo trips to Disney and I agree, they can be so much fun! I am a little nuts when it comes to touring, I like to start early and end late and run from park to park, and I find that most people don’t like to take things at the same pace…so it is fun when I get to make all the decisions!

    But it is also fun to visit the parks with friends 🙂

    • runeatdatesleep July 31, 2011 at 11:46 am #

      I have Goofy. I really thought they’d be plastic cards, and not paper. It will for sure be all crumpled looking by next July.

Leave a Reply

