Week in Review

14 Aug

Because I loathe the term “bad blogger”, I’m not even going to say that’s what I’ve been or make excuses as to why I haven’t been blogging.

It was a good week filled with runs, social meet-ups, Disney World, and new opportunities.

For the first time in a long time, I managed to squeeze in three runs in one week.

Monday was a 3 mile run in 40 minutes with 2/1 intervals, a 13:13 pace. It was a wet and rainy twilight run around town.

trail 1

On Wednesday, I set out to do 5 miles around town, but it was only 5:30, and the humidity was crankin’ at 89%. I did 2/1 intervals for the first 1.9 miles, but the heat was overwhelming. I walked the next 0.6 miles and restarted intervals doing 1 minute of running with 1 minute of walking for the next mile. I stopped to get a drink of water out of a water fountain, and as soon as I did, my glutes and hamstrings immediately cramped. I was still 0.4 miles away and was able to hobble/crawl back. I ended up doing 3.5 miles in 50 minutes, a 14:25 pace.

On Saturday, I headed to the Celebration Fitness Centre since they’re still doing Fridays and Saturdays for free for Celebration residents. I started out on one of the most technologically advanced treadmills I’ve ever seen. You could watch any channel on TV you wanted. You could play games like Solitaire. And no matter what I did, I couldn’t find my pace anywhere on the screen. I’m sorry, but this is important. Also, my right foot was causing me pain, as it usually does when I’ve accidentally tied my shoes too tight. I jumped off of the treadmill, retied shoes, and did some arm workouts. I found a more rinky-dink treadmill and did a great 2/1 interval run in 30 minutes, covering 2.32 miles (12:55 pace).

Total Weekly Mileage= 8.82 miles

On Friday evening, I decided to reward myself for working really hard this week by taking myself to Magic Kingdom.

025

I’m a sucker for the Carousel of Progress! “There’s a great big, beautiful tomorrow!”

015

036

My plan when going to the parks alone is to check out the attractions which hardly ever have a wait. But before I do, I grab a Fast Pass for an attraction with a long wait. Being alone in a long line is really boring! The Carousel of Progress and the Tomorrow Land People Mover are notorious for having little to no wait.

016 

And despite its major success in the movie business, Pirates of the Caribbean usually has a short wait as well.

029

Space Mountain was my Fast Pass selection of the evening!

020

I really needed the night away from emails and work, and this was the perfect little getaway.

Last night, I met up with some of the ladies of OWR (Orlando Women Runners) for a night in to watch Spirit of the Marathon. Ann hosted it at her house and offered a delicious variety of munchies… healthy pizza, popcorn, fresh fruit, etc.

Even though I had seen it before, the movie provided me with the motivation I needed to get my butt back in training!

Nicole & Irene

052

Ann, Meredith, and Michelle

053

And a blurry picture of me and Marissa

055

It was a great time chit-chatting with other runners discussing marathons, crapping your pants during a run (which I have NOT done, by the way), and defending Masters theses. I love how social Orlando is! I’m making new friends every week. It feels awesome to be connected to other like-minded people who share the same interests and values.

Today’s plan is to take my Kindle to Disney’s Beach Club for some rocking chair reading, and I assume I’ll venture over to Epcot for the evening.

I promise a FAQ post soon! I’ve gotten a lot of questions recently about training for speed, fueling while being a vegetarian, and gear for beginners. I promise I’ll answer them soon!

Hope you all had a wonderful, relaxing weekend!

10 Responses to “Week in Review”

  1. Jenn August 14, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Nice job on the running! 🙂 And Kindle reading at the Beach Club sounds like heaven right now. Didn’t even think about that as a perk about living down there 🙂

  2. Emily August 14, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Great job on the running! Love the picture of the castle. Carousel of Progress & People Mover are two of my faves!!

  3. Eat: Watch: Run August 15, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    This is terrible, but the only reason I go on the Carousel of Progess is for the air conditioning. LOL You can kill me now. But it gets hot out there and you get to sit down too! 🙂

    • runeatdatesleep August 15, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      Not terrible at all. I think Disney knows people use it for that lol

  4. Irene Struif August 15, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    Hey I know that chica in the red! I had a great time and it was very nice to meet you. Looke forward to Eola on the other side of my sprint tri this Sat! : )

  5. Kerry @ Half Healthy, Half Nuts August 16, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    I LOVE Carousel of Progress too! It’s so outdated, but so fun. I actually have a version of “There’s a Great Big Beautiful Tomorrow” by They Might Be Giants on my iPod running playlist. So dorky, I know!

  6. corinna (@emeyez) August 16, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    Love your blog! I’m jealous that you get to go to Disney so much! 🙂

  7. Irene August 18, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    ps. wanted to let you know that i added your blog to my blogroll on my blog at marathontrainingsupport.com!

    • runeatdatesleep August 18, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

      Awesome! One of my to-do lists tasks is to update my blogroll. I’ll add yours!

  8. Angie August 24, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    Sounds like you’re loving the choice you made to go to Orlando! That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

