One Interval at a Time

15 Aug

First of all, can we take a moment to talk about my new logo and header?

RunEatDateSleep_Logo_Color

Many thanks to Bailey Doehler for creating a new look for my site!

****************

Now, on to tonight’s run. I had plans to go to one of Celebration’s neighborhood fitness centers, but after walking the half mile there, I found out that the gym is community-exclusive. Fail. I was really looking forward to a 0% humidity run.

I walked the half mile home and wanted to just call it a night. But I remember that I just created a half marathon training program (which I haven’t shared yet on the blog) and today was the first day of the program. I wasn’t just going to skip it. So I went home, grabbed my Garmin, and headed outside to get my 3 miles done.

Even though I vowed to myself to run the full marathon without walking breaks, I’ve decided to train again with the Galloway method (run/walk intervals). For the past few runs, I’ve simply told myself “just work on this interval” and “one interval at a time”, and somehow, it helps me get through the times when I just want to quit.

trail 6

I finished 3 miles in 40:41, a 13:33 pace, in 82% humidity. It’s like run-swimming. I’ve never soaked my clothes in so much sweat before! Yucky, but it feels so good!

*****************

Remember in yesterday’s post I said that I would be heading to the Beach Club for some reading and then heading to Epcot for the evening. Well, I did grab lunch at the Beach Club, but I didn’t end up reading much. It was just too hot outside to enjoy a good rocking chair read. The “food court” at Disney’s Beach Club has some really healthy options, including this veggie wrap.

003

The walk to Epcot’s backside reminded me of the last few miles of the WDW Marathon.

007

006

This time feeling a little less like I might die.

008

009

011 

First stop was the American Adventure pavilion- air conditioning and the chance to see my new friend, Kate, sing. Unfortunately, it was her day off but the singers yesterday were outstanding!

015

I used to make fun of my dad for always wanting to check out the American Adventure. I always used it as an excuse to take a nap. But now, I totally get it. It’s a time to rest in the air conditioning, for sure, but I love our country’s history!

021

Next, I got to hug Duffy!

022

And I cruised along to The Land, where I caught Living with the Land where you can see how Disney farms!

025

026

027

032

035

Mickey head in the lettuce 😉

036

Growing plants without needing a lot of soil.

037

038

039

040

Integrated Aquaculture is so awesome. The fish underneath provide a natural fertilizer for the plants.

041

Spaceship Earth is another one of those attractions that you can count on not having a line.

042

The ride now is interactive, and after you answer a few questions, it spits out what your future will look like (along with a weird photo of yourself attached to a Jetsons-like character).

046

Future Andrea is a runner. Who knew?

047

I’m going to have lunches with myself in the future. No change from the present.

050

And I’m going to take up flying. Hopefully I’m a better flyer than runner.

052

Why does it look like someone took a bite out of my head?

054

I did a lot of people-watching after this and probably made unintentional stank faces at those who decided to dress themselves like this…

disney wtf

I had a lot of time to kill before fireworks, so I just sat down in a good viewing spot and caught up on some blogs. And then at 9:30, Illuminations!

067

070

071

073

Hope you all had a wonderful Monday! Did you do anything fun, new, or exciting over the weekend?

14 Responses to “One Interval at a Time”

  1. Sana August 15, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Run-swimming does not sound like fun but I am glad you did it!!!

  2. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition August 16, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    Epcot fireworks are the best!!

  3. vinobaby August 16, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Love the new header–very professional looking.

    Back (eons ago) when I worked at Disney I would go wander around EPCOT in the evenings also. It was like having a massive international food court. Too bad I was too young to sample the international hooch as well. I do miss the fireworks.

    Looks like you had a fun weekend.

    Cheers.

  4. foodsweatandbeers August 16, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    WOW! There’s so much Disney stuff I never knew!

    Admittedly, the two times I’ve been there I was either 4 OR with 2 siblings that were 2-3… For some reason, the idea of gardens and farming never crossed our mind.

    This is awesome.

  5. Christina Daugherty August 16, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    you make me itch to go to disney everytime you post!

  6. Running Jennie August 16, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Great new look on the blog!

    This weekend I took myself on a date to see Billy Elliott (a musical) and it was pretty great. I also finally set up my new running blog and committed to my 10k training plan. Scary!

  7. Kerry @ Half Healthy, Half Nuts August 16, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I just love reading your posts about the parks!! We have annual passes, but don’t get out there much during the summer, since it’s so stinkin’ hot out. But now I have the itch to go!! Hopefully I’ll run into you out there one of these days! Are you doing the Wine and Dine in October?

  8. Emily August 16, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I love living vicariously through your trips to the parks!

    Yay on the run! I’m so impressed – that humidity is ridiculous.

  9. The Linz August 16, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    I love your new header!! And way to go on your run. I did my first marathon using the galloway method and it worked great for me. Especially when you got into the second half. Keep up the great work!

  10. smilelivelaughlove August 16, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    I just love your hair! It looks so good on you 🙂
    Your new header is awesome…she did awesome! I am so insanely jealous of all your Disney trips….at least you aren’t posting a million pics of palm trees, then I really would be CRAZY jealous!

    PS that wrap looks so scrumptious…..yum!

  11. Adam August 17, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Just found your blog really enjoyed reading it I too am a runner and I love Disney. It’s funny I go to Disney all the time myself. When I go i always end up thinking about the 5ks and marathons there while in the parks
    Next time yo go to the land you should check out the walking tour of living with the land it’s pretty interesting

  12. Jenn August 17, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Love the new look of the blog 🙂 And I’m in LOVE with Voices of Liberty. I make it a point to see them at least twice on every trip. I’m still waiting to hear them sing Golden Dream. And I definitely remember complaining to my dad that American Adventure sucks but now I love it.

  13. Victoria @ Running Peanut August 18, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    The last few miles of that marathon = torture. I will always think of the France pavillion as mile 25.

    I love, love, love The Land. I think it’s my favorite exhibit at EPCOT, and I alway leave with a huge urge to eat veggies.

    I think it’s very clever that you got some exercise in at the parks, too! 🙂

  14. Sara@Runninginpinkproject August 21, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    I am going to have to look into getting a season pass when I move down. Way to go on the run. I cant imagine doing that in the FL heat but I guess Ill have to learn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

