Where I’ve Been

23 Aug

Wow, the past few days have been so jam-packed!

On Friday, I banged out 4 miles on the treadmill at the gym. I did 2/1 intervals and completed it in 53 minutes, a 13:07 pace. So to recap last week’s mileage, I ran/walked 3 miles on Monday, walked 3.76 miles on Wednesday, and ran/walked 4 miles on Friday. That makes last week’s total mileage 10.76. I should have run 3 times, but I just wanted to walk on Wednesday. I was going through so much emotionally last week! I’m glad that all has passed!

On Saturday, I was invited to join my friends Emilie and Mike in Epcot. It was Emilie’s first time to Disney World! I also got to hang out with their friends Lynn, Dave, Lynn and Dave’s daughter Genevieve, and a family friend of theirs Maria. They got there earlier than me and already had Fastpasses to Soarin’, so I waited for them and snacked on some things I brought from home and caught up on all of the Healthy Living Summit recaps on my Google Reader

002

While in the Land pavilion, we all decided to grab something to eat since the Seasons food court has so many healthy options. I ordered the tofu veggie noodle bowl. It was surprising how tasty it was!

004

After lunch, we strolled around the countries, stopping in France for a pastry (do you think I ate enough that day, geez?!), Japan to look in the store, and America to catch Voices of Liberty.

011

Just as we stepped in to Italy, it started to downpour! We grabbed some seats in Germany and tried to wait it out. But it looked like we weren’t going anywhere soon, so we just decided to screw it and walk in the rain barefoot. By the time we got around to Future World, our Fastpasses for Test Track were ready to be used and they had just re-opened after the storm. Perfect timing!

They all had tickets to Cirque that night, so I went home to dry off and take a nap. We all met up again at 8 to catch dinner at House of Blues, one of my favorites on Disney property!

013

015

On Sunday, I got to Magic Kingdom earlier than everyone else, so I got to see the rope drop ceremony! It was my first time!

023

022

I had a couple of hours to spare, so I checked my Underground Tourist app to check on wait times. The Buzz Lightyear ride was only a 10 minute wait, so I hopped on that immediately, and of course I did the Transit Authority Peoplemover. I’m a creature of habit.

032

Mike texted me to let me know they were about 30 minutes from the front gate, so I also jumped on the Walt Disney World Railroad to blow 20 minutes.

037

039

040

046

By the time I got off of the railroad, it was time to meet them all at the gate. It was awesome to experience Emilie’s first visit to Magic Kingdom with her. I think she kinda loved Cinderella’s Castle. We headed directly to Space Mountain for Fastpasses. Since it only had a 20 minute walk, we got Fastpasses but also just went ahead and got in line.

053

I might have tried to attempt a heel click in front of Cinderella’s Castle.

209

Fail.

castle august 2011

We were able to catch the Jungle Cruise, Big Thunder Mountain Railroad, and Pirates of the Caribbean before it was time for them to leave.

216

228

pirates

I cannot wait for them to come back in October!

Stay tuned for what I did on Sunday evening.. Orlando Food Trucks! Oh, and I got to experience Hot Power Yoga at College Park Yoga last night. I’ll be posting about that soon too!

9 Responses to “Where I’ve Been”

  1. Emily August 23, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    I’m super jealous of your attempted heel click jump because it is definitely better than any of my attempts. It is one of my goals in life to do one someday.

  2. Erica @ Eating On The Run August 24, 2011 at 5:48 am #

    I used to work at Jungle Cruise, I was a skipper. Such fun memories!

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 24, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    Wow that all looks like so much fun! I am super jealous. Your heel click is ten thousand times better than anything I could hope to do.

  4. Carolina @ Peas in a Blog August 24, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Are you going to College Park Yoga’s “Summer of Love”? Free yoga, can’t turn that down! Lets go, I’m planning on it 🙂

  5. Tiffany August 24, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    I love the heel kick picutre! I still think you moved to Florida just to go to Disney World whenver you wanted!! I know that by the end of the year you will have paid for your pass again and again.

    • runeatdatesleep August 24, 2011 at 10:10 am #

      I think it might have already paid for itself. I think I’ve been 6 times, and a one-day ticket is $90. I absolutely love being so close! Whenever I’m bored, I just hop in the car and go over 🙂

  6. Jackie @ MomJovi August 24, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    I ADORE the rope drop at Magic Kingdom. We try to hit it whenever we plan on going to MK on a weekend.

    And I’m crashing yours and Carolina’s plans to hit the yoga event at CP Yoga! And let me know next time you’re going for a class. I bought a 3 week unlimited Groupon for CP Yoga and haven’t started it yet. I have a love/hate relationship w yoga, so I’d love to go with you if you don’t mind the company some time!

  7. Jennifer August 24, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    How funny. I was also at Epcot on Saturday, and I also rode Test Track right after the rain stopped! My husband and daughter went to MK on Sunday, but I stayed home. Love hearing about your adventures in Orlando, and in my old town….I still adore Celebration! I hope you enjoyed the food trucks….downtown, I imagine? I live in Avalon Park….it’s a Celebration type community on the east side of Orlando, in the UCF area, and they have events here where all the food trucks come to our town center…love that!

Leave a Reply

