Orlando Food Trucks

25 Aug

After seeing the buzz around the food trucks in Orlando, I made a request a few weeks on Facebook that some of my Orlando friends must take me to one of the events. My new friend Marisa happily agreed to drag me to one.

In case you have not heard of food trucks, here’s the rundown. Some trucks come from already established as stand-alone restaurants. Some trucks are just the trucks. The trucks all meet in an area for a bazaar of sorts every Sunday in Orlando. However, you can catch them individually throughout the week if you follow their websites and catch where they’re going to be.

We arrived there sometime around 5:30 on Sunday evening, and even though it wasn’t officially opening until 6, there were already lines. I knew I was going to make Big Wheel my first stop! I had already heard how good they were from following other bloggers.

big wheel 2

235

Marisa and I chose to order the Fried Grouper Cheek Slider sandwich (unpictured) and the Thai Red Coconut Curry Chicken Skewer.

239

Both were absolutely incredible! The chicken was so moist and seasoned so thoroughly!

We then split off and picked different trucks to choose our main entree to split. Marisa chose the GTL Sausage from Treehouse, and I chose the Mango Bourbon Kota from Wicked Wiches.

If I remember correctly, the GTL Sausage was sausage, ricotta, spinach, and tomato sauce. Basically a lasagna sandwich.

247

The Mango Bourbon Kota was almost as delicious, but I think the terribly long wait clouded my opinion. I think I waited close to 30 minutes for my sandwich, and I honestly think they lost my order. I wasn’t the only one, either, who was wondering where their food was. I knew going into the evening that there would be waits because the food is obviously made fresh, but this was an extraordinarily long wait. But the sandwich was still tasty. You could actually taste chunks of mango. It’s basically a roll with the fluffy bread taken out and replaced with the pork, bourbon, and mango mixture stuffed inside and served with sweet chips with honey drizzled on top.

246

I was really psyched when I ran in to MomJovi at Wicked Wiches! Crazy how I’m so new here but I already run into people I know! It was so nice meeting her husband and daughter.

wicked

We took our meals back to her car to tailgate and chit-chat. After a long time of letting our food digest, we went back for dessert.

Mango Italian ice from Sunset Ice and a lime coconut parfait from Treehouse.

dessert

The Italian ice was sooo smooth and out-of-this-world delicious! The parfait was kind of bitter but still amazing! And both were just the right size to share and not feel stuffed.

It was a great, inexpensive night out with a great friend and great food!

Does your city have food trucks?

10 Responses to “Orlando Food Trucks”

  1. professorjosh August 25, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    Now are you a hooked on Food Trucks huh? Definitely check out some of the smaller events, much more personal a feel and always seem to run into fellow blogger or CFLFoodies

  2. Marisa August 25, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    You forgot about the s’more cupcake from yum yum!!

  3. Jackie @ MomJovi August 25, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    So fun seeing you there, too! And is it possible to have dessert-envy several days later? I was so full from our GTL/Crooked Spoon quesadilla that we bailed on dessert but that Italian ice looks amazing. Next time, I’m hitting that!

  4. Christina Daugherty August 26, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    i love food trucks!!! there are sooo many around here that it makes working in the concrete jungle ok on most days. 🙂

  5. Cheryl August 26, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    The mango ice looks amazing! The only food trucks I’m aware of are the ones that have more or less permanent homes (I live in Jersey). Although I have gone by them a lot I have never actually stopped since they basically just have sandwiches that have everything under the sun in them (mozzarella sticks, french fries, chicken fingers, etc).

  6. Jennifer August 26, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    There is also a Korean BBQ truck that’s usually there. Can’t think of the exact name right now, but we tried it last time the food trucks came to my side of Orlando, it was great!

  7. Sara@Runninginpinkproject August 26, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    My city does not but my future city does!! 😀

  8. Fervent Foodie August 28, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    I LOVE food trucks! It’s such a fun concept and plus you get the chance to try bits of food from lots of different places. Charlotte has a food truck festival every few weeks, and I always try and go!

  9. Megan August 29, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    I saw that the trucks were going to be out last night so I ventured to a part of Orlando that I hadn’t been to before (well, that is most parts really). I tried the Mango Bourbon Kota too. It was really good and the wait wasn’t that long for us. I can’t wait until Wednesday to try out the truck when they are at a place that is a little closer to home!

  10. foodsweatandbeers August 30, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Holy mackerel, food trucks are just too delicious. You’re a lucky lady.

    My favorite local food truck is the pizza truck, Klausie’s, with thick crust, SO MUCH CHEESE, and a great mess of toppings. It’s like foccaccia pizza-fied.

Leave a Reply

