Small Adjustments

30 Aug

In May, I wrote this post about how I’ve lived my life always in the pursuit of something bigger, but I had finally reached a place where I felt like I was okay just where I was. Well, since then, I have moved to Orlando and the feeling of being okay with the status quo has quickly dwindled. I’m already thinking of where to head next, and I think that stems from me not being happy living in the present.

I’ve convinced myself life will not be complete without a husband and children, and until those things come along, I’m desperately searching for something that will fill those voids in my heart. What if the husband and babies never come? What if I get the husband but can’t conceive? What if I don’t get married but adopt a child on my own? In my mind, without these things, I’ll never be complete.

But as I was in yoga class tonight and making small adjustments in the poses to give them more power or an extra stretch, I realized that I need to apply this concept to my life. I do not need to make drastic moves to different areas of the country to make myself happy, nor do I need a husband and babies to complete me. If I make small changes and adjustments to my life every day, maybe I’ll finally enjoy the happiness of the present.

At this moment, the small adjustments I see happening revolve around creating balance between work, play, marathon training, and home. I need to schedule time for each of these things throughout the day. Working from home can be so isolating. Besides going to the gym, I really don’t go anywhere, so I need to make more time (and money) to enjoy Orlando.

I’m also making small steps in creating a new business. It will be all mine, and I’m starting it from the ground up. So every day, I’m going to make small steps towards making it happen.

Now, of course, I don’t see myself settling down in Orlando. But for now, I’m going to make the best of my time here!

What are you doing in your life to appreciate “the now”?

4 Responses to “Small Adjustments”

  1. Jackie @ MomJovi August 30, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    This is a really great post. Don’t you love when a-ha moments strike at the most random times (although I guess yoga is probably a good moment for these breakthroughs to occur). Sometimes all it takes is the slightest little shift in our thinking to kick the door wide open. I can’t wait to watch what happens with your new business and new life here in Orlando! I’ll be your wing-girl any time!

  2. Lisa Mallard (@TLMBusinessServ) August 30, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Wonderful post! You are an inspiration to many as you are finding out. I can’t wait to hear about your new business.

  3. Eat: Watch: Run August 31, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Also remember the grass may look greener on the other side (the other side being a husband and kids) but you won’t know until you have that. I’ve never really heard anyone say they are complete because of that. It’s just a part of the big picture that makes things great. So focusing on other stuff like your business will just be the other part of that big picture that makes things great! 🙂

  4. Emily September 2, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Wow, really good post! I understand what you mean with the husband and kids. I’ve just about given up on having kids of my own. I really like your point about just making small adjustments, and you can be happy in the now. Congrats on taking the steps to create your own business.

Leave a Reply

