One Year Vision

2 Sep

I’ve really enjoyed reading some other bloggers’ 10-year vision posts, inspired by lululemon. Lululemon recommends creating vision boards and vision maps starting with your 10-year goals and work your way to your 5-year and 1-year goals. But like Maria von Trapp, I tend to start at the very beginning.

One’s vision details one’s ideal life and identifies the goals one needs to achieve to earn this ideal life. Your vision should inspire you, excite you, and even scare you. You should strive for things you find to be impossible at the moment because once you make it a goal, you can focus on it, and it becomes more attainable.

I’ve been writing this one-year vision post for a few weeks now, and I think it may be finalized… for now. We all need to update things once in a while, but I’m sticking with this for now.

September 2012

I am thirty years old (almost 31). In an effort to save money, start paying off debt, and start a retirement fund, I have spent the last 12 months earning money at a second job I love, and I have started my own business. I have moved out of Celebration and into a less expensive apartment. (I’m reserving the right to change where I may be living next year. It could either be Orlando or another area of the country).

My business has had a tremendously successful first year, and I have at least 5 brokers (pretty much all I can handle right now with no employees to help me yet) who send me their business every month. I have paid off my Jeep and my tax bill. I am no longer living paycheck to paycheck.

I am in a relationship with a mature, attractive, successful man. He enjoys quiet nights in watching ridiculous reality TV as much as he likes going out to a romantic dinner or to the Disney parks. He also enjoys an active lifestyle, and we encourage each other to succeed in all areas of our lives. He will not be living with his parents when he meets me.

I am still running and am training for my third Walt Disney World marathon. I am incorporating more cross-training like spinning, yoga, weight training, and swimming. I am not focusing on the scale. Instead, I’m focusing on being fit, toned, and healthy.

My new home is decorated with my favorite things and colors. It has a screened-in porch so I can enjoy the mornings outside while eating breakfast and the evenings after a long run. I finally feel “home” in my own space.

I stay in contact with my family with daily emails and phone calls, and I fly home to visit at least twice a year, and they come to see me twice a year as well.

(I just realized how much we all look alike! It’s crazy!)

I’m enjoying life and look forward to what the next year brings!

 

I encourage you to start thinking about your 1-year, 5-year, and 10-year goals. Please share them with me once you write them out. I’d love to read them!

4 Responses to “One Year Vision”

  1. JoAnn September 2, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Sounds like to very nice, realistic plan. Planning and putting on paper helps put things into focus.

  2. Michelle @ milesforbreakfast September 3, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    My goals change all the time but what I want 5 and 10 years from now is pretty steady. This is a great idea.

  3. Kelly September 6, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    A vision board– what a fabulous idea. I think your vision is attainable and smart. Sending good thoughts your way.

  4. wdwalone September 7, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    This is a great place to start and as they say, you have to start somewhere :)!

Leave a Reply

