Marathon Training Week One & My New Job

11 Sep

Without even really realizing it, this week was the first week of marathon training. This morning, I decided to really get down to business and train for the marathon. I had been training for a half-marathon, but since I was too late to register for Wine & Dine, I was training to run a half-marathon solo. But it’s time to buckle down and really think about the marathon, which is ultimately my real goal right now. After last year’s disappointing race, it’s time to go back for redemption!

I found Hal Higdon’s 18-week marathon training plan for novices. Since there’s only 17 weeks left until the race, I already completed my own week 1.

Week 1

Monday- 3 miles

Tuesday- 60 minute yoga class

Wednesday- Rest

Thursday- 5 miles

Friday- Rest

Saturday- 8 miles

Sunday- Rest

Total mileage- 16

Hal Higdon’s program will have me running 4 times a week instead of 3, and he only has 1 cross training day every week. I’m going to try and incorporate at least 1 day of yoga and 2 days of weight training.

Oh, and I also have to work around my schedule at my new job at Lululemon!

(photo source)

I feel so honored to be chosen to work for such an amazing company!

I’ll be spending the rest of today cleaning the house and visiting Magic Kingdom with a friend!

9 Responses to “Marathon Training Week One & My New Job”

  1. wdwalone September 11, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Hal Higdon’s plans are great and I’m sure it will serve you well in your training.

    Congratulations on the new job – sounds super exciting!

  2. Emily September 11, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Congrats on the new job!!

  3. Jenn September 11, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    congrats on the new job! I loveeeee lulu!! πŸ™‚

  4. Andrea September 11, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Congrats on the new job! Lucky you – discounted Lulu!!!

  5. Eat: Watch: Run September 12, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Woo hoo! Congrats on the new job. I guess that means that you’re going to be looking pretty rockin’ is some cute discounted clothes for that half marathon. πŸ™‚

  6. Victoria @ Running Peanut September 15, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Yay for the new job! Very exciting! πŸ™‚

  7. Shannon [Tropical Eats] September 18, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    yay new job & marathon training!

    hope you’re liking orlando. πŸ™‚ you should take a day trip up to gainesville & explore! fun lil town on saturday game days.

  8. Carolina @ Peas in a Blog September 18, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Yay, congrats on the job! Which location are you at? I’ll come visit & shop from you πŸ™‚

    • runeatdatesleep September 18, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

      I’m at the outlet. I’d love to see you at the store!

Leave a Reply

