Week Three of Marathon Training

28 Sep

I really need to keep up better with this! Last week’s training included:

Tuesday- 3 miles on treadmill

Friday- 3 miles on treadmill

Saturday- 5 miles on treadmill

Total mileage- 11

I was SUPER busy last week with lululemon training during the day and catching up with my regular job at night. I just didn’t have the time to put in for training and still maintain balance with rest and work. I only missed one run and a cross-training workout, but I feel like last week could have been so much better.

Unfortunately, my knee pain from last year returned during last night’s run. I spent last night and today’s lunch hour icing it.

This week’s training schedule has been tweaked a little to help my knee recover because I’m running the Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon this weekend!

I ran 3 miles last night (Tuesday), but I’m going to take the rest of the week off until Saturday night to help my knee recover. It’s already feeling better, but I don’t want to take any chances. I realize I’m not quite prepared for a half-marathon as my longest run recently was 8 miles, but I’m really just running this for fun. Of course, I’d like to run a sub 3-hour half, but we’ll see what happens since I’ve barely run outdoors in a while. We are supposed to get a cool front this weekend, so maybe it won’t be so humid!

If you’re running Wine & Dine, stop by the lululemon Orlando outlet for a complimentary water bottle on Friday. You must bring your bib.

Well, it’s time to rest the knee and get settled in for what looks like a really awesome Ghost Hunters episode!

5 Responses to “Week Three of Marathon Training”

  1. Eat: Watch: Run September 28, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Holy crap, that race is this weekend already? Awww…it’s me and Michelle’s first half marathon anniversary. ❤ 🙂 I'll expect a full race review!

  2. wdwalone September 28, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Take care of that knee – rest, ice, and elevation are all helpful!

    Have a great race this weekend and enjoy every mile – it will not disappoint!

  3. Emily September 30, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Yikes!! Hope your knee is better in time. Have a great race!!

  4. Casey October 6, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    I just found your website and I love it. I’m running the full tis January with my husband and sister. I can’t wait to read the Wine and Dine review!

  5. Fervent Foodie October 6, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Good luck on the run! I hope you knee heals up in time!

Leave a Reply

