The Day I Became a FurMom

11 Nov

It’s been a dream of mine for quite some time to adopt a beagle. I’ve just been waiting on a landllord nice enough to allow pets and some financial stability. Everything recently fell into place, and I caught myself browsing Pet Finder. I usually search for the following: beagle, female, young, and adult. But this time, I didn’t eliminate seniors from my search. Grace’s picture stole my heart, and my heart broke as I read her bio.

molly professional picture

She was a 9 year old beagle just looking for a lap to lay her head for the remainder of her life.

It only took me a few minutes to decide to email the animal haven where she was living, and I heard from them the next day. I quickly filled out the application and heard back from them the very next day. Karen, the owner of the animal haven, called to tell me I had been approved and gave me Grace’s history. She was presumably used for hunting, and the animal haven had rescued her just a month earlier from a kill shelter in Georgia. She was scheduled to be euthanized at the kill shelter, but they rescued her beforehand.

On Tuesday, I was scheduled for a meet-and-greet to see if we got along. From the moment I saw her, my heart melted. I knew she was my dog. The trainer at the animal haven filled me in with more information as well. She was most likely an outdoor dog all her life, so she probably wasn’t potty trained. They probably fed her at the same time with a bunch of other dogs by throwing the food on the floor, so she probably had to fight for her fair share. She also clarified that the vet thinks she’s between 6-8, not 9 like we originally thought. Her ear canals are pretty tight, and she’ll need surgery so that an infection doesn’t grow in there. Thankfully, the animal haven will be picking up the tab for her surgery. They also told me I could change her name since she was only named Grace a month ago. So, Grace became Molly Grace.

My mind was already made up before I even met her, but visiting her just made me want to take her home even more. We agreed that I’d be back on Wednesday (the next day) to pick her up, and then I left to make a trip to Petco where I purchased her food and water bowls, food, treats, a bed, and some toys.

When I came to pick her up on Wednesday, she was inside getting all gussied up for her new home. When Karen brought her out in a towel, my heart absolutely melted. This was my little girl! She was shivering from just being bathed, and she was probably really nervous. They gave me her medicines and her medical history, and we were on our way!

molly 2

It didn’t take her long to get settled in the passenger seat.

molly 1

She got a little anxious when we were halfway home, but all she needed was a little petting.

As soon as we got home, I took her on a long walk and then introduced her to her new home. She sniffed every square inch and then quickly found her cozy bed.

molly 3

molly 4

We took walk breaks every 2 hours and food breaks every 4 hours. When I was at my computer working, she laid right behind me.

molly 5

When it came time for dinner, I made sure to feed her right before I sat down to eat so we would eat as a “pack” like she was used to. But she eats so much quicker than me, so she spent the next 10 minutes staring at me like this while I ate.

molly 6

No barking or whining while I ate. Just staring.

We went to bed a little early. I brought her bed in next to mine, but she found a pillow in my closet she liked better.

molly 7

I didn’t sleep too well that night. I kept waking up to make sure she was breathing. Kind of like the first time I babysat my nephew when he was an infant.

The morning brought a really early inventory shift at lululemon, so I had to leave her in a confined area for 7 hours. She still hadn’t pooped since I brought her home, so I was worried throughout my whole shift that I would come home to a really messy bathroom. I left her in there with her pillow, her bed, her toys (which she still doesn’t play with), and her food and water. When I came home, she didn’t even hear me come in the door. She was fast asleep and snoring with her little head on her pillow, and no messes were on the floor. Yay! She did her business outside when I got home, and she got an extra big treat for being such a good girl!

Today has been a good behavior day as well! She’s been enjoying long naps and long walks. She met a few furry friends on her walks today, and she just stared at them and didn’t bark. And she got a few compliments from our neighbors about how cute she is!

molly 8

molly 9

She’s been a fantastic addition to my home. She gives (and receives) so much love! I love that she follows me everywhere and needs to be in the same room as me. My life has definitely changed since adopting her. My life is not entirely my own anymore. Her needs come before mine, and I’m completely okay with that! I’m so glad she’s my little girl, and I’m especially happy I decided to adopt a senior dog who only needed a loving home.

Tell me about your pet! How were your first few days with them?

23 Responses to “The Day I Became a FurMom”

  1. Jenn @ Running Jennie November 11, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    What a beautiful puppy!

    I adopted Suki (our cat) from a shelter when no one else wanted her. She was so unhappy in her cage that no one thought she was nice. They brought her to me without me even meeting her at the shelter first when they found out I was willing to take her. She’s beautiful and I love her! It was nerve wracking at first to have a pet but it was also so comforting to have someone to come home to when I was living alone.

    Enjoy your new girl! 🙂

  2. Faith November 11, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    Aww, what a sweetheart! My dog was adopted from the pound. I know so many people have reservations about pound puppies, but dogs like Haley and Molly are perfect examples of how good any dog can be with some love!

  3. halfmarathonersarah November 11, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    So cute!!!! I want to give a her a virtual kiss right now!!!

  4. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition November 11, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Congratulations! She is adorable. I am so excited for you!

  5. Krissie J November 11, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Awww she’s totally precious and I love that you gave an older dog a great home! 🙂

  6. Brie @ Brie Fit November 11, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    Congrats! She’s such a pretty girl. Hooray for rescue beagles! I think they’re the best, but then again, I’m biased.
    When we brought Milhouse home, I wasn’t prepared for how tired he would be. I guess living in a noisy shelter for a month took a lot out of him–he pretty much slept the entire first week we had him. Two years later and he’s a totally different dog! It took a few months for him to be comfortable enough with us to let his personality show, but he’s such a cuddlebug now. We just love him.

  7. Hemarie November 11, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    She looks like such a sweet dog! And so well behaved?

    My first few days with Rex I was a nervous wreck because I thought he was going to die. Sure enough, two days later I was at the vet and they told me it was a good thing I brought him in… he had bronchitis so bad that they had to keep him for 3 days! I was so sad, but that’s what I get for falling in love with a puppy store dog.

    The good news is Rex is alive and his near death experience did not stunt his grown at all. He’s a very healthy, 30-lb pug. Oh… and he’s on a diet. 🙂

  8. Jen November 11, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    This warms my heart! I am so glad you were able to adopt (& save) her. Congrats!

  9. Andrea November 12, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    So happy you adopted a senior dog:) I have had my Mixie for 6 years (adopted her when was 9) & she is perfect!! She still follows me around & doesn’t play w toys and I can’t imagine my life without her. Congrats on your new addition.

  10. Alicia (@thewannabefoodi) November 12, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    What a great story!! I adopted my dog from a local SPCA. He was the first dog that I have ever had. He is the best, I can’t imagine my life with out my Butternut Squashington!

  11. wdwalone November 12, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Congratulations on your new fur baby!!! They can totally change your life that’s for sure.

    I had two dogs and I lost my 9 yr old lab to cancer very quickly. My co-worker in TX had a dog that just had pups – a lab mix. I watch them grow virtually for just over 7 weeks, then my sister and I flew to TX from AZ, rented a van and drove them home. They are sisters – Belle (yellow lab mix) and Jasmine (black lab mix) and are 5.5 years old. I lost my other dog earlier this year – he was 17 and I had rescued him from the street when he was only 4-5 months old.

    Enjoy your time with Molly Grace – she’s gorgeous!!!

  12. Michelle @ Michelle Does Germany November 13, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    She is beautiful. I have always wanted to adopt an older dog but am worried I’d get so attached and he or she wouldn’t be around for long. My dog is 2.5 years old and I always refer to him as my best friend. He got me through my husbands year long deployment, he sleeps with me, listens to me rant and rave about whatever, and is just so precious and important to me. When we first got him, he immediately favored my husband and still does… sometimes it bothers me but most of the time I’m ok with it.

  13. Abby November 13, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Andrea, this post is making me tear up! She is such a gorgeous girl and you did an amazing thing by rescuing an older dog – I wish more people would do that same!! Congratulations on being a fur mom – as you said, it is absolutely livechanging!!

  14. Elizabeth November 13, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    What a wonderful story! Congratulations on becoming a fur mom! She is beautiful 🙂

  15. Eat: Watch: Run November 14, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Aww, she is so sweet. I love her! I think if I adopted a dog, I would get an older one too. We got our bunny when she was 8 weeks old and she spent most of her time trying to climb over every barrier we put in the room for her. But we started potty training her right away. Only took about 5 days. So, she’s a smart one. 🙂

  16. Jennifer November 14, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Oh, she is beautiful! Congratulations! You sure live in the perfect town for dog walking! We always say, you meet so many people there just by walking your dog around town. In fact, if a small chihuahua meets Molly Grace and starts barking like crazy at her, that just might be my mom’s dog, Sunshine. She walks that dog around town every day. Good luck, and congrats again.

  17. The Linz November 14, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    This post had me almost in tears! You are right, that little doggy face is heart melting! I’m so happy to hear you found yourself a little furball to love. Sounds perfect.

  18. Melissa November 14, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    I’m a lurker, but just had to post on this sweet story. So glad you adopted Molly Grace!! Sounds like you two have a lot of fun times together. 🙂

  19. Tiffany November 15, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Molly Grace is too darn cute. There is something to be said about adopting an older dog. We have 2 dogs ages 12 and 13 and they are very special to us. I love to see my 3 year old sit down and pet Teo and give him love.

  20. Robyn November 15, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    OMG I love her! I want to adopt a dog so badly and am just waiting for when I live by myself sans roommates.

  21. Brittney November 16, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Awww, she is so cute! Congrats! Getting my dog might be the best thing I’ve ever done. I was never a big dog person and was talked into it by my husband, but he’s such a joy! We got our dog in Chicago while visiting my in-laws and flew him home to Charlotte. He was always a pretty good dog from day one, so we’ve been lucky. I can’t imagine life without him anymore!

    • Stacy Kifer November 17, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      Congrats! I never knew how much I would love having a dog until I brought my mini doxie home. They are truly the best friends. 🙂 She is ADORABLE and I love your rescue story.

  22. Susan November 26, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    Molly Grace is so very cute! It doesn’t take long for those beagle eyes to get into your heart–from a beagle lover. She knows that you’ve saved her! :))

Leave a Reply

