One Month with Molly

11 Dec

I cannot believe it’s been one month since I adopted Molly. We celebrated our one month anniversary by getting our portraits done by Hillary of Paw Prints Charming.

I’m waiting for some additional photos to be edited, and I’ll be sharing them here soon.

I can’t believe how well we’ve both adjusted. We know how to communicate with each other now, and I’ve curbed most of her constant barking. I never had a dog when I was a child, so this was a huge step for me and a very huge learning experience.

She had to have surgery on her ears a week ago in order to resection her ear canals. If the surgery wasn’t done, she would completely lose her hearing, and she could possibly get a fatal infection. She spent one night at the animal hospital, and it only took that one night for me to realize I had completely fallen in love with Molly. I missed hearing her snore. I missed knowing she was at my feet under my desk as I worked. My home felt empty. I think we were both equally excited when she came home.

In other news, my parents graciously paid for my plane ticket to fly home for Christmas. I was starting to get really sad that I’d be spending the holidays without family, but this quickly lifted my spirits. Unfortunately, Molly will need to be boarded, and Disney’s kennel is all booked up for the holidays. Does anyone in the Orlando area have a recommendation for a kennel?

16 Responses to “One Month with Molly”

  1. ann December 11, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    I just love your blog. Keep them coming please! The new family member is beautiful. Is she small enought that you could possible bring her on the flight?

    Merry Christmas!

  2. Jennifer December 11, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    Are you a member of the front porch website in Celebration? If so, post it there, I’ll bet you will get suggestions. I’m still a member of the front porch (they never deleted me when I left celebration)…I can ask there for you if you’re not a member?

  3. wdwalone December 11, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    I hope you find a good place to board Molly and so glad that her surgery went well and you’re enjoying each other!

  4. Katy Widrick December 12, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    Ohhhh I’m dying to get my dogs’ pictures taken now!

    BTW, I’ve been meaning to tell you — my childhood dog was named Molly, and we lost her after a very long, very happy life. I smile every time I see you post an update, because my Molly gave me so many great memories.

  5. Victoria @ Running Peanut December 12, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    It’s downtown, but I’ve used Dog Day Afternoon for our pups and they seemed to like it a lot. Kind of a sketch area, but the place is Fort Knox. Very secure.

  6. Eat: Watch: Run December 12, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Oh man, I would love to watch her if I didn’t already have an animal that gets scared by her own shadow.

    There’s a kennel on Alafaya by Waterford Lakes but that might be too far for you. It’s called Pretty Paws. Or something paws. Ugh. I pass it everyday and can’t think of the name.

    • Jennifer December 13, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      Happy Paws? On 50 about a mile east of Alafaya?

      Also – same area, which I know is far for you. My neighbor owns University of Doglando, on 50/Colonial Dr, a little east of Alafaya in the Waterford Lakes area, and it’s a wonderful place!!

  7. Jackie @ MomJovi December 12, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    She is SO cute! All of the places that we used to board our dogs are over on this side of town. I know there are a couple places near the airport you could check out. One is Park, Bark and Fly (you can park your car there too and they shuttle you to the airport). I forget what the other is called. But again, I don’t know anything about them in terms of quality, just location. Good luck!

    And I have a cousin who also has a beagle named Molly. Too funny!

  8. Amy December 14, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Hey there… found your blog through at link of at Then Heather Said.

    Just thought I’d say hi! πŸ™‚

  9. The Linz December 16, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Your pet photos are adorable!! And that is so nice of your parents to send you home for the holidays. I just got back home, and it’s been so nice to see my family and friends back here. But it was definitely $$$! Enjoy your time home for the holidays!

  10. Sable@SquatLikeALady December 16, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Oh, Orlando?! You’re so close! πŸ™‚ I’m in Sarasota!!! I know of a great dog boarding place here…my co-worker’s family owns it πŸ™‚ Guess it’s kind of a long drive for you though πŸ˜‰ haha!

  11. ahlterra December 21, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Andrea! I have decided to publicize you to the total of 11 people that read my blog! yay!

    This includes giving you a web badge award! It’s over on my blog because I haven’t figured out how to put pictures into comments yet. It’s a Liebster Award!

    So glad to see things going well for you! Thinking about you this summer/winter!

    merry christmas!

  12. ann December 22, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    We keep coming to read your blog, but you’re not posting any!

    😦

    oh well.

    • Jamie December 23, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

      As a dog lover with an affinity for beagles and a soft spot for seniors, I am so happy to see that Molly found a home with you. Congrats on your new family member, and love the pic!

Leave a Reply

