NYC Half Marathon – Take Two!

30 Dec

The NYC Half Marathon has been hands-down my favorite race. I saw Deena Kastor. I enjoyed the city with good friends. And I PRed. It was awesome!

I entered the lottery last year, and unfortunately, I didn’t get in. However, I got in this year!!!

Now, I had to back out of the 2012 WDW Marathon because of a knee issue and plantar fasciitis, but I’m determined to get myself healed and trained properly for New York. I will PR again.

Coming soon- 2012 goals and a look back at 2011.

How are you ringing in the New Year? I’m hoping to go to a Disney park for fireworks with Alison. Crossing our fingers the parks don’t close due to capacity. I’m usually down for a quiet night in watching a movie on NYE, but this year will be different!

5 Responses to “NYC Half Marathon – Take Two!”

  1. beth December 30, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    Congrats! With the insane price increase I opted to skip it this year. I may volunteer…it’ll just depend on schedules and stuff.

    As for New Year’s… My yoga studio’s doing a 2 hour thing starting at 10 and I’m going to that.

    Definitely plan to get to the parks early. I was there last year and I’m pretty sure they all – even EPCOT – closed to capacity well before midnight.

  2. Susan December 30, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Congrats on making it into the NYC Half for 2012! On my list of resolutions for next years is to complete a half. I considered the Providence Half in May, but am now thinking more than likely it will be the the Newport Half in the Fall. I figure that gives me plenty of time to train (plus I have heard the Newport course is a lot more picturesque)!

    Wishing you a Happy New Year!

  3. Victoria @ Running Peanut December 30, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    I know you will PR! You got this. πŸ™‚

    I would looove to go see the fireworks, but I’m blacked out right now on my annual pass. I was thinking of going next weekend for my birthday, but not sure I want to risk all the race traffic either. Plus, I’m totally sad I’m not running it. 😦

  4. Michelle @ Michelle Does Germany December 31, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    I have no idea what we are doing yet and we better figure that out soon. It is already 7am on the 31st here! We have tentative plans but it all depends on whether or not a couple we know can get a babysitter for their kid.

  5. Emily January 1, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    How awesome you got into the NYC Half!! That is on my list to do someday.

    Fireworks at a Disney park sound like a great way to bring in the new year! Me, I’m spending a quiet night at home.

Leave a Reply

