My New Favorite Place to Run

29 Jan

One of the reasons why I moved to Orlando was the chance to do my training runs around Disney World. When I wrote on Friday that I was getting ready to go run 4 miles on the treadmill, I thought to myself “Why are you going to run in place for an hour when the weather is beautiful and you live in Disney World?!”

I’ve been here for almost 7 months already, and Saturday was the first day I ran on Disney grounds. My 4-mile run took me from the Boardwalk Inn,

run 1

to the entrance of the Hollywood Studios,

run 2

by the Swan and Dolphin

run 3

around the Yacht & Beach Club Resorts,

run 4

and back to the Boardwalk Inn.

run 5

I had to do the loop a few times to get all 4 miles in, but I never got bored with people-watching and enjoying the scenery. When my legs got tired, I tried to remember my reward for completing the run= my favorite veggie wrap from the “food court” at the Beach Club.

run 6

It was as yummy as I imagined it would be! It’s stuffed with eggplant, squash, zucchini, lettuce, and some other veggies I can’t remember now.

run 7

Tell me about your favorite place to run!

11 Responses to “My New Favorite Place to Run”

  1. Kim January 29, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

    What beautiful scenery you had during your run and that wrap looks amazing! 🙂

  2. Jenn @ Running Jennie January 29, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    What a beautiful run! You are so lucky to get to run around Disney World whenever you want. I’ve got to say, if I lived in Florida I would never run on a treadmill (unless it was pouring rain maybe).

    My new favourite route is the one I did today – up through Quebec, to Rideau Hall and through that beautiful neighbourhood, and up and down the Rideau Canal. It helped that the weather was close to 0oC instead of freezing like it was a couple weeks ago!

  3. Ricole Runs January 30, 2012 at 1:52 am #

    That run sounds FABULOUS! I love running anywhere new and scenic, the time goes by so fast when you’re busy looking at all your surroundings or worried about being lost! 🙂

  4. Hemarie January 30, 2012 at 7:55 am #

    I love running Dinky Dock in Winter Park. My group times it with the sunrise and we always take a moment to admire it. 🙂

  5. Susan January 30, 2012 at 8:04 am #

    My favorite run is when we visit my in-laws beach house. Takes me past a wildlife sanctuary which is gorgeous – no houses on that one mile stretch of road – and then into the port where the fishing boats are. I run it as a loop so the majority of the run takes me by the sanctuary.

    • Jennifer January 30, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Running around Disney is the best!! Though, even just running around Celebration is incredible too, I used to love running there when I lived in the town.

  6. Kipp January 30, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    During my visit last September, I really enjoyed running around Port Orleans.

    During the 1/2, the overpasses going back to Epcot, not so much.

  7. ' February 2, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Ultamitly on the beach, other was the bike path around the willamette river or the one by the Mckenzie river here in Oregon.

  8. linzlikewhoa February 3, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    I have to say I’m super jealous you get to run around Disney. I’ll won’t be running there til November, at the Wine & Dine!

  9. dnardi710 February 10, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    I am so jealous that you are able to go on your runs around Walt Disney World! I’ve run that route while I’ve been on vacation and during a couple of runDisney races, it’s so relaxing and always has great people watching!

    I’ve also done the loop through Saratoga Springs and Downtown Disney when I’ve been down there on vacation, it’s nice to go early in the morning and see Downtown Disney completely empty!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 4 of Weight Watchers « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - February 5, 2012

    […] Saturday- ran/walked 4 miles […]

Leave a Reply

