Wide Open Spaces

30 Jan

When all you’ve ever known about Central Florida is downtown Orlando, Disney World, and neon lights on I-Drive and 192, it’s hard to believe that this exists just a few miles away…

lake louisa 3

Rolling hills and orange groves in the distance. Yes, hills do exist in Florida!

On Sunday, my friend Bethany invited me to join her friends for a hilly, long run at Lake Louisa State Park.

lake louisa 1

These pictures don’t do these hills justice at all. But I busted my butt and kept up with 2/1 intervals despite wanting to walk up those hills. I felt so proud!

lake louisa 2

The four of us didn’t run together, but it was a good feeling knowing that they were out there with me, whether I could see them or not. I’m a solo runner and have often strayed away from running groups because I don’t like talking while running, but I’ve learned that I can still benefit from being a part of a group and still run solo. It’s the start and finish, laughs, and after-run beverages and guilt-free food that make a running group worth it.

I finished 6 miles in 1:16, a 12:40 pace.

Week #3 of NYC Half Marathon Training complete!

7 Responses to “Wide Open Spaces”

  1. ann January 31, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Go girl.

  2. Lily January 31, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    6 miles! Great job, you should be proud.

  3. jan February 2, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    shld we post here? why? it’s not like you reply to any of us

    • runeatdatesleep February 2, 2012 at 9:51 am #

      Jan, I usually reply to someone’s question via personal email. I am not self-hosted, so my replies directly on the blog do not send a notification to the reader that I replied. Therefore, I respond directly instead.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 4 of Weight Watchers « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - February 5, 2012

    […] Sunday- ran/walked 6 miles […]

Leave a Reply

