Dog Days

21 Feb

After reading several blog posts from other bloggers about Fleet Peeples Park, I knew I had to take Little Miss Molly there for her very first dog park visit ever. Well, I’m assuming that based on the story they told me at the rescue about Molly being part of a hunting group and not someone’s pet. I was so excited to show her the park and let her roam leash-free!

dog park 2

001

We got there around 4:30, and there were a ton of other doggies there enjoying the weather, the water, and the sand between their toes.

When I first let Molly off her leash, I felt like a mom dropping her kid off at her first day of school. I was nervous about Molly meeting other dogs, and I wouldn’t be able to control her if something went wrong. Luckily, she kept to my side for the first few minutes and then started going right up to other dogs to get a good face sniff.

002

003

004

I was really excited to see her go near the lake, but she never did put her feet in. I wanted to see her swim, but maybe next time.

005

She then started to wander over to the heavily wooded area, and I got really nervous. She quickly got away from me, and then just like that, I couldn’t see her anymore. Other doggie parents told me to just call for her, but poor little Molly is about 90% deaf. I did hear her nervously bark several times as if she knew she got too far from me.

dog park 1

I eventually saw her come right out, and she quickly ran over to a pile of mud to play around. She did keep going back in the woods, but I figured out where all of the trails were and was able to find her easily. She even befriended some other dogs and followed them.

dog park 5

The park was enormous! A lot of the area was shaded with Spanish Moss trees.

010

The park is situated right on Lake Baldwin. I imagine this looks really beautiful at sunset.

006

008

009

The park is also really clean, and I never felt like I might step in a pile of poo. The park also has doggie water fountains, a few pavilions for meet-ups or reunions, and a bathing station.

dog park 4

I was really excited to see Molly playing with other beagles. It was so cute!

011

dog park 3

Unfortunately, I had no idea how dirty Molly would get, and I didn’t even think to bring a towel. And I also didn’t even think to wear older pants and shoes. Whoops!

I definitely have plans to take Molly there at least once a week. We both had so much fun!

9 Responses to “Dog Days”

  1. marisad February 21, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    You’ve never run Lake Baldwin?? It’s about 2.5 mi around. 🙂

  2. wdwalone February 21, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    That is so awesome. Molly is just so adorable and I’m glad you both had such a great time!

  3. Michelle @ Michelle Does Germany February 22, 2012 at 1:29 am #

    Great pictures! I used to go to a dog park when we lived in WA and I would always be looking down, convinced I was stepping in dog shit all the time. Not cool.

  4. Carolina @ Peas in a Blog February 22, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    Next time you go tell me, I live really close & Rocco (my mini schnauzer) loves going!

  5. Emily February 22, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    That looks like a great park! Glad you both had such a good time.

  6. Tiffany February 23, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    Sounds like you had a good day! That park looks huge from your pictures.

  7. smilelivelaughlove February 26, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    That looks like such a fun park! Ours is so boring, compared 🙂 I wish we had one like that for Cooper closer to us here. Glad Molly had so much fun!

    • jan February 27, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      I love that you had fun with your baby there. Post MORE POST more.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fit for a Princess Expo « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - February 25, 2012

    […] the expo, Molly and I spent some quality time at the dog park. We’re all settled in now, and I’m getting ready to lay out my clothes and gear for tomorrow […]

Leave a Reply

