Fit for a Princess Expo

25 Feb

The Disney Princess Half Marathon weekend has finally arrived! First stop- the expo!

001

002

They let me park my carriage right there on the sidewalk.

Once at the Wide World of Sports, I made my way to packet pickup. Little did I know that the usual spot for packet pickup was being used for another event, so Run Disney had to set up a much smaller venue outside in a white tent, which made the line insanely long.

003

Luckily, it looked worse than it was. After 20 minutes, I was through the line with bib in hand.

005

I truly believe the Disney expos are some of the most frustrating and irritating of expos. I mean, just look how packed it is.

006

Add a bunch of lost women with a shopping problem, and you’ve got one irritated Andrea. They all just look around like this is their first time out in public. MOVE! Thankfully, I knew to go straight to the back to get my shirt and “goody bag”. Umm, Disney, there were NO goodies in my goody bag!!! You do know other races actually give their runners stuff, right?

I was passing right by the stage as the next speaker was about to start. Jeff Galloway!

009

He’s the man behind producing the run/walk method, my saving grace!

After that, I had my fill of the expo, so I went on in to get something to eat at the ESPN Grill, formerly the All Star Cafe (where I worked!). I even ran in to some friends who were there for the expo.

013

012

After the expo, Molly and I spent some quality time at the dog park. We’re all settled in now, and I’m getting ready to lay out my clothes and gear for tomorrow morning.

Have you run any races at Disney? If so, which one has been your favorite?

7 Responses to “Fit for a Princess Expo”

  1. Paula @ Eat: Watch: Run February 26, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    I’ve only done wine and dine and the expo was super UN-crowded. But I think it was in such a huge space that it just didn’t seem like there were tons of people there.
    But yeah, no goodies in that bag either. And the crap they gave us after the race was even worse. A brown bag with a water, banana, and a muffin wrapped in saran wrap. So, someone baked that and wrapped it themselves. Not even a “brand name” muffin. Nasty. Only $140 for that!

  2. dnardi710 February 27, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    Hi Andrea – I hope your Princess Half Marathon weekend went well (aside from the expo and good bag of course!). I did the W&D Half and the WDW Full this year and I loved every minute of both of them (although I agree the expos are way over crowded and the goody bags are lacking!), I can’t wait until my next one!

    It must be great to live so close to Disney! Looking forward to hearing how the race was!

  3. Jenn February 27, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    How did you do? Disney Princess this year waa my first half and I loved it! Thank God I got to the expo Friday at a slow time, I got right in and out of there! The walk to the corrals was crazy long and heavily crowded!! Still glad it was my first, though the 3 am wake up sucked! Goody bag was a joke, no goodies at all! Snack box was better.

  4. Jaime February 28, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    Hi! Just stumbled upon your blog and I love it!

    I’ve run several Disney races, both at Disney World and Disneyland. I love them all! So far, the Tinkerbell Half at DL is my favorite. I did the WDW half and marathon relay this year, and I have to say running the beginning of the full marathon was a cool experience…and made me decide to try for Goofy in 2013!

    Looking forward to your race recap!

  5. Kerry @ Half Healthy, Half Nuts February 28, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I too was SO peeved at the lack of “stuff” in the race packets at the Princess!! I got a number, some safety pins and my t-shirt. That’s it! $170 race entry fee for what? Though, the race itself was pretty awesome. Even though it was my 9th time racing the same exact Disney course, I still have a blast every time! Can’t wait to read your race recap! I saw the Lulu girls holding signs and thought about you!

  6. Emily February 28, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Ha! I know – its like the airport and people forget how to walk in crowds! The Princess Half is definitely my favorite Disney race that I have done.

  7. wdwalone February 29, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    I don’t like the no goodies either. They’ve put everything online on a website and now call it an iGiftBag. The goody bags are now called gear bags. I miss the stuff I have to say.

    Yes, the expos can be very frustrating. I was disappointed in the official merchandise too – they really focused on the smaller runners again for this race – which I am not.

Leave a Reply

