Gasparilla Distance Classic 15K 2012 Recap

10 Mar

The wake-up call came really early at 4:45am. We all got up and put on all of our gear.

shirt

My stomach was upset, so I didn’t eat my usual pre-race meal of bread and peanut butter. Instead, I grabbed one of Anne Marie’s bananas.

I think we left around 5:30 and quickly made our way to downtown Tampa, where we had already paid for a parking spot near the convention center.

before race

We met up with some of Bethany’s other friends and headed to the corrals pretty much at the last minute.

before race 2

bethany me

As soon as we got to the corrals, the crowds starting moving, and we were off!

The first few miles went by without a hitch. I kept up with 2/1 run/walk intervals for a while. The course was an out and back along the bay, and the first 4.5 miles followed the residential side of the road, which also meant there was some shading.

Mile 1- 12:01

Mile 2- 12:12

Mile 3- 12:29

Mile 4- 12:49

Once we made the turnaround, we were making our way down the bay side of the road, where there was zero shade. The sun was beating down on me, and I’m a huge wimp when it comes to running in the heat. My pace slowed down, and I switched my intervals to :30/:30 run/walk intervals.

I have to say, I loved this course, but the best and worst thing was the view from Mile 5ish.

20120303-img_2167

(source My Fascinating Life)

It was a beautiful sight, but I also knew I still had to make it to those buildings FAR off in the distance.

Mile 5- 12:53

Mile 6- 13:53

It was around Mile 6 when the heat REALLY starting getting to me. I felt a little faint at times, and despite telling myself to listen to my body, I made myself keep going. Luckily, there were plenty of water stops and glorious water misters. The volunteers at the water stops were so great and offered to refill my water bottle I was carrying.

My intervals went from :30/:30s to “whenever you can run, do it.” You can just see the pain, right?

pain

(I had taken out my headphones because I was getting a headache. My yurbuds are those little lumps in my shirt) At least my arm looks all tan glistening in the sun like that. 😉

Mile 7- 15:15

Mile 8- 15:15

Once I could see that the end was near, I picked up the pace just a tad.

Mile 9- 14:05

.41 nubbin- 5:28

gasparilla results

I definitely didn’t finish in the time I was shooting for (1:52), but oh well. There’s always next year!

After I crossed the finish line, I made the uphill trek to get my medal and go hang out with some pirates.

medal 2 medal back

medal

gasparilla pirate

I was pleasantly surprised by all of the finish line refreshments. Smoothies for the win!!!

smoothie

There was also soda, pineapple fruit snacks, fruit cups, bowls of hot black beans, and sports drinks. Disney, take note here.

Anne Marie and Bethany also completed the 5k right after the 15k, so we all met up in the convention center afterwards.

after race

We made our way to the beer party quickly! We each had a Michelob Ultra ticket on our bib good for one free beer. The lines were too long, so we opted for Coronas first.

coronas

The scenery was so pretty!

scenery

Overall, despite my rocky performance, I loved this race. The course was beautiful, the race was wonderfully organized, the refreshments were tasty and satisfying, and I had a great time with my running buddies. I will definitely be doing this race next year!

If you ran Gasparilla, tell me what you thought and post a link to your recap!

10 Responses to “Gasparilla Distance Classic 15K 2012 Recap”

  1. Abby March 10, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    Congrats on your race! It sounds like a ton of fun. I’d love to get down there for that one. Sorry you were in pain 😦

  2. WeightWars March 10, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    You seriously inspire me! Nice work and great time 🙂

    • runeatdatesleep March 10, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

      Thank you very much!!! Just checked out your blog too 🙂 Very inspiring!

  3. Marilyn March 10, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Hi I’m Marilyn, I’m a new blogger here in Orlando, just came across your blog and I love it, so inspiring 🙂 congrats on the race!

    Pinkbambina.blogspot.com

  4. turtlespdrunner March 10, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    Congrats! Looks like a really pretty course 🙂 Sorry about the heat hampering your performance… but awesome that you got all those cool freebies at the end. Smoothies?! Yum!!

  5. wdwalone March 10, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Sorry you had some rough spots in there, but you did a great job finishing it up. Sounds like a great race and after party!

  6. Sara@Runninginpinkproject March 11, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Next year Im tagging along. 😀

  7. Susan March 12, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Congrats! I know that heat and humidity can knock you for a loop, I had that problem when I did a 10 miler last July–starting it at 6 PM when it was getting cooler didn’t help one bit, it was still way too hot and so many people had issues with it.

    I had heard that Boston Marathon great Bill Rodgers was at Gasparilla. Did you get to see him??? Hoping that he will make an appearance at the 5K the day before the Boston Marathon, or at the expo when I go to pick up my number.

    I think it is so great that you are able to find people to run with. I have my usual gym buddies when I use the treadmill at the gym, but would love to find someone to hit the road and to do races with!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 9 and Done with Counting Points « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 11, 2012

    […] Sunday- Ran/walked Gasparilla 15K […]

Leave a Reply

