Week 9 and Done with Counting Points

11 Mar

I made a decision this week to cancel my Weight Watchers membership. Although I absolutely loved my leader, meetings no longer seemed to make financial sense. And I enter a space in my head I dislike when I’m on Weight Watchers. My history with Weight Watchers goes back 12 years now. In college, I had a lot of success with the program, and I didn’t even go to the meetings. But I would stay up until 2am to go my apartment complex’s 24-hour gym to workout hard enough to make myself throw up.

In my eight or so attempts at WW since then, I’ve never gone to that extreme, but the negative self-talk overwhelms me. I resume habits I’m not comfortable with. I start eating foods just because they’re low in calories but may not be nutritionally beneficial. Also, if my meetings are on Friday, I’d splurge all day Friday and most of Saturday thinking I had all week to fix my mistakes. I can no longer do this.

It’s not Weight Watchers, it’s me. I do not like the person I become when I’m on the program.

Because I have 5 friends on Weight Watchers, I know that I’m accountable to someone. We can text each other anytime to talk through a craving or motivate one another to go to the gym. I also have this blog, and I know I have to report to all of you each week. So, the accountability of the meetings, which I thought I needed, isn’t needed after all. I’m going to miss my leader though. Kerri, if you’re reading this, I’m so sorry!

RECAP:

Activity:

Sunday- Ran/walked Gasparilla 15K

Food:

Still not tracking, and I don’t plan on tracking now. I will eat healthy foods when I’m hungry, and I will eat the right foods to properly fuel my body for long distance runs. It really should be that easy, right?

Results:

Lost 1.4 pounds for a total loss of 8.2 pounds

ww week 9 

5 days until I leave for the NYC Half Marathon!

3 Responses to “Week 9 and Done with Counting Points”

  1. christy March 11, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Hey girly. You have the power to do anything you put your mind to. I have been using an app/website called myfitnesspal and have lost quite a bit. I like it better then sparkpeople because while u track calories and all that you earn calories back for working out because u need them to fuel your body. Whatever u need I’m here in support. Loves!

  2. wdwalone March 12, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    I can understand how programs can cause that mindset. I have avoided structured programs for just that reason. You definitely have to find something that works for you and is healthy for your mind and body.

    I too have been using myfitnesspal and really like it. It’s great as an accountability tool and it helps me see how to best fuel my body when I do a workout. Sometimes while you think you did a lot, when you look at the calorie burn it isn’t near as much as you thought and it catches you before you do something to stupid.

    I know you can do anything, you’ve already made great progress and I’m sure there’s more of that to come!

  3. Sarah M March 13, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    I am proud of you for realizing that you don’t need the meetings to stay on WW. To do it right! I can be one of your accountability partners as well. I am also contemplating quitting the actual program as well, because I am starting some of the same behaviors as well. I weigh in on Saturdays and use that as my “cheat” day where I eat a lot of bad foods because I have all week to work it off. Im also killing myself at the gym but not seeing a lot of results. I’m getting extremely frustrated and feel like I just really need a change/break. You’ve made AMAZING progress with everything, and I know you can do whatever you put your mind to!

Leave a Reply

