Arriving in New York City

2 Apr

I’m just now getting around to recapping my weekend in NYC for the NYC Half!

I left semi-early from Orlando to catch my flight to JFK via JetBlue. It was my first flight with JetBlue, and I don’t think I’ll be flying with anyone else anytime soon. Free first checked bag, individual TVs for everyone, and unlimited snacks and beverages!

Seriously, when Criminal Minds came on, I was in flight heaven!

criminal minds

When I awoke from a nap, I realized I missed out on my snack opportunity and summoned the flight attendant to bring me some cookies 🙂

cookies

So much better than a little packet of stale biscotti, right?

When I arrived at the airport, it was fairly easy to find my way to the Go Shuttle I was scheduled to take into the city. If you’re looking for transportation to and from the NYC airports, check them out. They were very efficient, and they drop you off wherever you need to go in Manhattan, and it was fairly inexpensive.

nyc 1

I asked to be dropped off in Midtown at the public library.

002

I had plans to sit and read in Bryant Park, which is adjacent to the library, but it was a dreary, rainy day.

004

I decided to grab lunch at Cosi instead since we don’t have any in Orlando, and it had been a really long time since I enjoyed one of their sandwiches.

005

The eating area was quite cramped, and I still had an hour or 2 before Alison would be picking me up to take me to her place, so I decided to leave Cosi so other people could have my table. After a few minutes on Yelp, I found a Chipotle right down the street and grabbed a seat there and read some of “Skinny Bitch” until Alison came to get me.

I was so excited to see her, and I was so ecstatic to have a New Yorker tour guide for the weekend. We headed straight to Brooklyn’s Trader Joe’s for some snacks for the weekend.

006

007

We also walked around Brooklyn for a bit, and I picked out my next abode. A nice, little, contemporary brownstone. I’m sure it’s moderately priced 😉

brooklyn 1

brooklyn 2

I love streets like this. Makes me think I’ll see Carrie Bradshaw pop out at any minute.

brooklyn 3

That evening, we laid low and caught dinner at Henry Street Ale House, where we shared the chips and salsa, and I ordered the mushroom, onion, and Swiss burger. So tasty!

008

I loved the quaint atmosphere and low lighting.

010

009

Afterwards, Alison suggested we catch a movie at the cutest little movie theater ever. It only had 2 theaters and 2 employees. We saw Friends with Kids, which was just the right of humor mixed with drama. A majority of the cast was from Bridesmaids, but the comedy in this movie was not over-the-top, unrealistic, and ridiculous like in Bridesmaids. I loved it!

Friends With Kids main

It was a fabulous, low-key evening, and I loved it!

Stay tuned for more NYC recaps.

5 Responses to “Arriving in New York City”

  1. wdwalone April 2, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    Sounds like a great way to start your NYC trip. Can’t wait to read more.

  2. mommydivadiaries April 2, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    You were a train ride away from where we live now. My hubby works in times square. Next time your up this way you will have to let me know! Love the blog as always and thanks for supporting mine “fitch” ; )

  3. ann April 3, 2012 at 4:50 am #

    Same here. Great photos too.

  4. Sara@Runninginpinkproject April 3, 2012 at 5:49 am #

    AGH! I wanted to see that and it didnt come out here. The next time Im in NY I want to explore areas other than Manhattan. Looks like fun. 🙂

  5. Lindsay April 4, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    I was in NYC that weekend. We should have met up!

Leave a Reply

