NYC Half Marathon 2012 Recap

1 May

Ok, it’s been over a month since the NYC Half Marathon, and I’m finally feeling up to posting about it. Honestly, it was awful. It wasn’t awful because of race organization and whathaveyou. It was awful because I unknowingly ran the race with pneumonia. I thought it was a cold. Noooo. So because I’m feeling rather negative about the race, I’ll just post some pictures and some highlights. Okay?

Blurry, before-the-sunrise race morning picture in Central Park.

race morning

Because the course in Central Park is one big loop, I was able to catch the elite runners around Mile 6ish… Olympic athlete Kara Goucher!

kara goucher

The first few miles weren’t too bad, but I was honestly ready to quit at Mile 3. I was coughing and feeling dizzy. I knew my body wanted to just shut itself off, but I didn’t come all the way to NYC to quit (please don’t follow my behavior… ever!). The hills in Central Park were either worse than I remembered or worse because I was sick.

I also wanted to quit around Miles 4, 5, and 8, but I knew they changed the course to go right by the World Trade Center, and I wanted to feel the emotion of running by something so significant in our history, despite its sadness.

I kept moving forward and eventually saw Alison in Times Square around Mile 8. Seeing someone I knew spurred me on for a few more miles, and then out of the fog, the new World Trade Center appeared.

wtc

I knew the building was close to the finish, so I kept my eye on it and kept moving, despite feeling like I might pass out at any second. One foot in the front of the other.

wtc 2

I had never seen Ground Zero or the memorial, and once I did, the tears and the emotions flooded over me. I was stepping in the footsteps of where the buildings fell. Where many lives were taken. And now the NYPD was there again, but cheering us on instead. That was all I needed to keep moving.

After 13.1 miles of feeling the worst I’ve ever felt during a race, I was done.

finish 1

finish 2

The medal was mine.

medal

finish 3

I finished in just under 3 hours, 20 minutes slower than I had trained. I trained for several long months to PR, and my training was on pace to do so. Note to self- don’t ever run with pneumonia ever again! 

9 Responses to “NYC Half Marathon 2012 Recap”

  1. ahlterra May 2, 2012 at 5:46 am #

    I’m amazed that you kept going! But proud that you did! Go you! Also, great pictures of the WTC. I dunno that I’d have been able to do what you did. You are supremely awesome in my book! ❤

  2. ann May 2, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    Ok, that’s not good. Don’t do that again. Hoping your body has healed by now. Great photos.

  3. Faith @ For the Health of It May 2, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Wow – that’s insane that your body pulled you through the race with pneumonia. Tough girl! The idea of running past the WTC would probably keep me going too – such an awesome sight!

  4. Michael Crandell May 2, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Bravo my friend. BRAVO!!!

  5. beth May 2, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    Congrats!! I did see you on the course! 🙂 I was cheering at 42nd and 9th with my running club (we were the obnoxious ones taking up a lot of space! Hee!). I hope you feel better soon!!

  6. Bethi (disneymommi) (@disneymommi) May 7, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    My goodness girl! Sounds awful but you are such a trooper. Glad you have your medal and I hope you are back to 100% soon. Hugs!

  7. mightymelissa May 11, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Good for you!!! What a sense of accomplishment. I cannot wait to get to the point that you’re at. You are paving quite a path for us marathon hopefuls! 🙂

  8. ann May 25, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    are you writing more or are you finished? haven’t seen a blog in almost a month.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Upcoming Race Schedule « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - January 26, 2013

    […] Maybe I won’t have pneumonia this time. If you’re interested, you can read about my 2010 and 2012 […]

Leave a Reply

