One Year Later

2 Jul

One year ago today, I was headed to Orlando in my Jeep filled with boxes, with my mom following me in her Jeep and my dad following her with a moving truck. It took me a few years to realize I belonged back in Orlando. My heart belongs here. I no longer wanted to feel like I was drowning in my miserable life in Delaware anymore. Not that I didn’t love being near my family and friends, but I needed so much more in my life.

I was moving to Celebration, Florida, a town I had been dreaming of living in for 9 or so years. In my mind, it was the perfect place to live if I wanted to be near Disney World

.

 

I came here swinging for the fences. In my mind, I was going to instantly get a job at Disney World, go to every yoga class imaginable, join the Democrat group here in town, adopt a dog, and join a running group. I envisioned working on my laptop at Starbucks and spending afternoons at the Disney resorts reading. Most of that happened, but I also realized that it couldn’t all be accomplished.

In the last year, I’ve had a few part-time jobs, as well as my full-time job working for my family’s mortgage company. I worked at Rainforest Cafe for a dreadful 2 days. I spent a little over 5 months with lululemon, which I absolutely loved. I felt part of a family filled with brothers and sisters who genuinely wanted me to accomplish every single one of my wild dreams.

About seven months ago, I adopted the sweetest senior beagle. Molly has filled my heart with so much joy. I never knew I could love an animal so much. There are evenings when I just watch her sleep and my mind wanders to a really awful time when she’s no longer in my life anymore, and I just sob. I cannot even imagine my life without her in it.

molly146-M

After months of waiting for a call from Disney, I’m now a cast member and loving every single minute of it. I’ve made so many really good friends there.

I had so many good intentions of changing “me” when I moved down here. I was going to be a morning person so I could run around Celebration before the sun rose. I was going to keep my house super clean and stick to a cleaning schedule. I was going to meet the love of my life. I certainly didn’t change, and I’m quite alright with that.

I’m still that girl who would rather stay up until 2am and sleep in until 10. My house isn’t always clean, but it’s covered in dog hair, and that reminds me of that sweet little girl who loves me with all of her little heart. I certainly haven’t met the love of my life, but I’ve had a blast kissing all of the wrong guys. “The one” will come around sometime, and maybe he’s already here, and I just don’t know it yet.

My days are filled with lots of work but lots of fun, too. Every day is exciting to me, and I look forward to each day when I wake up. Life is so exciting when you can’t decide how to spend your evening because there’s so many options. I could go to Disney World, or I could spend an hour and a half in a hot yoga class with some of my favorites. Or I could spend the evening with Molly at our favorite dog park.

I’ve grown up a lot in this last year, and I’m so thankful for family and friends who have made the move to Florida possible. It has changed my story, but it certainly hasn’t changed who I am.

Leave a Reply

