Key West Vacation Recapped

2 Aug

My running buddies and I were off to Key West a few Fridays ago to run the Hemingway Sunset 5K. We were welcomed with clear blue skies on the 7 Mile Bridge.

7 mile bridge

We actually left on Thursday afternoon and stayed the night in Marathon so we could get an early start the next day. Good thinking on Anne Marie’s part so we could see the beautiful sights in the daylight.

first night 2

first night

breakfast

group

We checked in to Courtney’s Place, a quaint bed and breakfast, around 11am. It was an adorable little place… typical Key West, laid-back atmosphere.

courtneys place

checkin

They had a continental breakfast every morning, so they had these cute little tables set up.

breakfast table

pool

Our cute cottage… it was small but all 6 of us were able to fit nicely.

our cottage

Our cute little front porch

front porch

We quickly unpacked the cars, changed, and headed straight for the nearest beach.

south beach

me

beach

Since I can’t stay out in the sun too long, a few of us went to check out the Southernmost Point.

southernmost point

(I’ll remember not to wear that dress on a windy day again)

southernmost point 2

Michael and I were famished by 3pm, so we caught lunch at the Southernmost Beach Cafe, where I got conch fritters and a delicious blackened fish sandwich.

cafe

conch fritters

What a view during lunch, right?

view from lunch

That night, I did some shopping on Duval Street by myself and made some dinner for myself when I got back to our little cottage.

The next morning, we all headed to Higgs Memorial Beach, where I made a bee-line to the umbrella and chair rentals. I love being on the beach, but I love the shade more.

higgs 2

higgs beach

A storm started to roll in, so we left around 1pm.

storm coming in

That night was the Hemingway Sunset 5K, and I don’t think any of us were prepared for it. It was HOT, and it was just a fun run for all of us.

hemingway run

the crew

start

crew 2

anne marie me

I honestly hadn’t really run in months, so I wanted to just stop after the first mile. But I kept going. The sunset around the 1.5 mile mark was beautiful!

sunset

I actually made a stranger my little running buddy, and we pushed each other to run when we could. It was her very first 5K. It really helped to have someone right along with me. With each interval, we exchanged encouraging words. I didn’t think I’d need so much emotional support during a 5K.

The finish line was at the Southernmost Point. I think my time was around 43 minutes, my worst 5K time ever. But oh well… I had fun!

finish

finish line

sunset after 5k

There was some pretty awesome post-race food… watermelon, pizza, smoked salmon pinwheels, crackers and hummus, and beer!

watermelon

salmon pinwheels 

There was also chocolate-dipped key lime pie on a stick, but it was much too sweet for my tastes!

A walk home from a 5K is not complete without stopping for a picture with a drag queen, right?

drag queen

After the race, we all just went back to the room and took a much-needed dip in the pool. That night, as we slept, we got a really bad thunderstorm, which ended up canceling our jet skiing plans for the next day. Instead, we went shopping and drinking along Duval Street. My first stop was a jewelry store, which advertised itself as being inexpensive. I’m there!

aria

jewlry

We stopped for lunch at Old Town Mexican Cafe.

lunch

The whole restaurant was outside, a perfect setting for a lovely day. I had a yummy steak fajita quesadilla. Everything was so fresh, and the beer was cold!

quesadilla

We also stopped by Fat Tuesdays, Sloppy Joe’s, Hog’s Breath, and Bistro 245.

And I did even more shopping at the Life is Good store, where I found the cutest summer dress for my new niece (expected to arrive in December!!!)

life is good

More miscellaneous pictures…

901

angelina

random

It was a fantastic weekend spent with amazing friends! I can’t wait to do it again next year!

One Response to “Key West Vacation Recapped”

  1. Kim @ Living, Laughing & Losing August 3, 2012 at 7:08 am #

    Looks like fun!! I’ve lived in Florida for 9 years and have yet to make it to The Keys! I need to remedy that soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

