Day One of Medical Weight Loss

8 Aug

If you’ve read my About Me page, you know I had success with a medical weight loss program in Delaware. Unfortunately, when I quit the program and eventually moved to Florida, I gained back all the weight. Luckily, Greater Orlando Medical Weight Loss kind of fell in my lap.

gomwl

After perusing their website, which is filled with lots of information about the program, the costs, and the staff, I knew I needed to make an appointment and get started.

When I arrived, I met with my coach, Terri, who told me all about the program, including the medication therapy, nutrition counseling, the stages of the program, and behavior modification. Terri’s been through the program as well, so I knew I was in good, experienced hands. Actually, the nursing staff has lost a combined total of over 160 pounds. It’s good to know I’m walking into an office filled with a huge support system.

The program entails a high protein, low carb diet, which I’ve been told to follow by numerous doctors to help with PCOS. If I want to be healthy when I conceive children, this is the way to go.

I also met with Dr. Cruz, who was eager to hear all about me and my goals. I’ve also decided to go to him as my primary care physician because he’s eager to help me with my PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome) as well.

When I was getting ready to leave, I was greeted by David Edwards, the CEO/Director of the clinic. He was extremely kind and very anxious to get me on my way to my goals.

The first few days are protein-filled, so I made myself a delicious egg substitute and chicken breakfast this morning.

egg chicken

Molly was very interested in my breakfast! I wonder why. She LOVES grilled chicken!

molly excited 

This afternoon, I hit up Target for lots of protein-filled meals, deli meat, cheeses, and everything else on my “approved list of foods” for the first four days otherwise known as Phase One, getting my body into ketosis (fat burning).

I rounded out the day with a 4 mile treadmill run in 50:35.

Overall, this first day went very well. The medications I’m on have really helped my energy levels, and quite honestly, this is the first day in a long time I haven’t taken a 3pm nap. I’m very much looking forward to my weekly meetings with GO Weight Loss and sharing with you my results and progress throughout all of this. It’s going to be a difficult road (trying to lose weight and marathon training), but I’m anxious to show myself I can do it.

And for some pictures…

I found the worst recent picture of myself I could find for my before picture.

before 206

And here’s me after I lost 30 pounds in 2009.

174 

I know I can do this!

12 Responses to “Day One of Medical Weight Loss”

  1. Jaime August 8, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    You can do it! I always feel better when I eat low(er) carb. I know some people don’t agree with that, but I think everyone is different. Not only do I do well with weight loss, but I feel better emotionally as well.

    Best of luck, can’t wait to read about your journey. 🙂

  2. sarah August 8, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    What kind of medication do they put you on?? Is it the vitamin injections?

  3. Jenn L (@DisRunner) August 8, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    Good luck with it!! 🙂 I’ve been doing the lower carb thing too in the form of the Paleo diet. There are SO many awesome yummy recipes out there!

  4. Ariane August 9, 2012 at 12:24 am #

    Wow! Keep up the good work!

  5. vinobaby August 9, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    You can do it! Good luck to you on your journey to feel better inside and out.

  6. Victoria @ Running Peanut August 9, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    get it, girl! I’m excited to follow your progress. 🙂

  7. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. August 9, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    You’ve got this girl! I’m rooting for you! 🙂

  8. Mara August 9, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    good luck! I’m in a medical non-surgical weight loss study at a major teaching hospital. Been at it for about 15 months and I love it (I’m in the maintenance phase now). I’ve lost a lot of weight and it has improved my fitness level-I’m a runner now when I could barely walk up the stairs in my house. The visits will help keep you accountable.

  9. Jina August 9, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    You can do it! I’m excited to read along with your journey.

  10. Bethi (disneymommi) (@disneymommi) August 10, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    Awesome! Looking forward to hearing about your progress… I am on a weight loss adventure too (while training for the Disney Princess 1/2 Marathon in February).

  11. Sara@Runninginpinkproject August 12, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    You are going to do awesome!!! 🙂 So proud of you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Celebration Food Truck Friday « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - August 11, 2012

    […] a lobster roll and didn’t eat the bread. (If you don’t know already, I’m doing a hybrid ketogenic diet with Greater Orlando Medical Weight […]

Leave a Reply

