The First Four Days

13 Aug

As I imagined, the first four days on my new hybrid ketogenic (medical weight loss) lifestyle were so difficult. In the first four days, we can only have proteins. No fruit. No vegetables (except spinach and celery). No carbohydrates. Wednesday and Thursday were fairly easy because I had food in the house I knew I could have. My tummy was full with meats, cheeses, and eggs.

However, I challenged myself a bit on Friday and Saturday.

On Friday evening, I ended up attending Celebration Food Truck Friday. It took everything I had not to eat the bread on my steak sandwich.

Ok, I had one very tiny piece. /confession

After that, I headed over to Hollywood Studios because I just needed a night out by myself to relax and unwind. I was still hungry, so I picked up a late snack at the ABC Commissary. I ordered the cheeseburger and put the bread off to the side. Thoughts were going through my head like “if I eat one more piece of meat, I will most certainly gag.” Before I knew it, I had broken off a piece of bread and shoved it in my mouth. And out of nowhere, I spit it out in a napkin. I’m not sure if this was a healthy reaction or not, but I knew I wasn’t proud of it. Immediately, I emailed another blogger who is about 4 months into the Greater Orlando Weight Loss program. “I need a buddy!” was what I said to her, and she wrote right back and said she’d be happy to do this together. It’s such a relief to know there’s someone going through it with me.

Saturday brought on another challenge- a shower for Baby Widrick (recapped by Michelle and Meghann). There were cookies, cupcakes, delicious cocktails, wine, and fruit… all the things I wasn’t allowed to have. Another confession- I had a little sip of the Virgin Blood Orange Sangria. OMG delicious!

(photos by Meghann)

I ended up doing alright, and I stopped by Tijuana Flats on the way home for a steak salad to take home.

Despite just a few slip-ups, I tested for ketosis on the 5th day, and it came out “perfect”. I can’t believe I actually succeeded at something weight-related. (If you don’t already know, ketosis is the point where your body starts burning fat because there aren’t anymore carbohydrates to burn).

On the fifth day, I could start adding in dairy, fruits, and vegetables. A bowl of strawberries has never tasted better!

Tomorrow is my first weigh-in, and I’m very excited! I’m hoping to show a big loss!

5 Responses to “The First Four Days”

  1. Becca August 14, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    Wow – Amazing discipline you have shown! I will keep my fingers crossed for you. Steak salad sounds delicious right now πŸ™‚ I am a little bit anemic right now, so probably not a bad idea. Best of luck!

  2. Abby August 14, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Congrats on being ketosis! I’ve just started looking into this and I think I’m leaning towards it. Are you training for anything right now? I’m interested in knowing how this works with running. I’ve been brainwashed into thinking I have to have carbs in order to run.

    • runeatdatesleep August 15, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      Thank you! I am training for a marathon, but I’m only in my first few weeks, so I’m not sure how it will work when I need to do long runs. However, the diet is very similar to Paleo, which is popular in the crossfit world.

      • Abby August 15, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

        Me too. Good luck and I look forward to reading about your journey! I will look into Paleo, although everyone I know who’s tried that one, has fallen off the wagon.

Leave a Reply

