Road Trippin’ with Molly

23 Aug

I don’t think I’ve told you all the big news in my family yet! My brother and his wife Michelle are expecting a little girl (yay!!!!!!) this December! I had told my brother I did not want to miss the baby shower, so he has invited me to come stay with them in November for her shower… and Molly has been invited, too! No one in my family has met her yet, so this little cutie and I are going on a road trip!

molly 3 Since there’s no way I could handle Molly on a plane or in an airport, we’re making the 16-hour trek home.

Besides the obvious like bringing food, plenty of water, and her favorite blanket, I need some tips on taking a dog on such a long car ride. What do you do when you have to use the bathroom? I hate leaving her in the car by herself. Have you stayed in a pet-friendly hotel with your dog?

I want to hear all of your tips!

molly172-XL Molly and I thank you!

11 Responses to “Road Trippin’ with Molly”

  1. Christy August 23, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    leaving her in the car when u go potty shouldn’t be an issue esp because it will be November. Hopefully Molly doesn’t get car sick with all that driving but I would prep the car just in case. I’ve never stayed in a hotel with a dog so no help there. Smooches!

  2. divadogbakery August 23, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    Yes, I have done several trips from FL to VT with my dogs I brought both dog beds and pillows for the trip and we were fine. Don’t worry- it’s not that big of a deal.

    For every potty/gas refill break, let them out on leashes!

    There are a ton of pet friendly hotels, just google for them-seriously, there are a ton! I have to say, staying in a nice hotel, in a king size bed with each dog next to me was pretty fun and hilarious! The 3 of us were like little kids, jumpin and playin on the bed! I had no accidents and it worked out well!

  3. Anne August 24, 2012 at 1:09 am #

    We haven’t had to stay overnight, but I was amazed at how our dog did when we drove from Massachusetts to Tennessee. She just slept or stared out the window the entire time. She was never hyper or anything. She’s also 3. I’m sure that Molly will surprise you.

  4. Cativa August 24, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    If she is used to being fed twice a day, make the morning meal very light, and ditch the treats. Her tummy will thank you for it. If you can crate her for the drive, or have a car harness for her, thats the best. If you can’t, remember you have someone in the car not wearing a seatbelt and drive accordingly. Someone cuts you off and you slam on the breaks and she can go flying! Make several stops a day for water, potty and just play breaks. If you can wear her out so that she naps while you are driving it’ll make things easier for you. There is a broad spectrum of dog friendly hotels. Expect to have to pay a little extra for your room as many places charge a fee for having your dog. Some places will have dog bowls, but its best to bring your own just in case. Same things goes with a dog bed or pillow if she has one she loves. No problem leaving her in the car for a quick bathroom run. You may not be able to leave the dog in a hotel room though, so don’t expect to park her in the room while you run out to find dinner. Eat on the road or pick up something to bring back to the room for you to eat.

  5. Jina August 24, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    My dog is an amazing traveler. I bring her dog bed and put it in the seat. She sleeps most of the way and spends the rest of the time looking out the window. It’s fortunate you’re traveling in November. It should be fine to leave Molly in the car when you stop for a restroom break. We’ve stayed in pet-friendly hotels, and my dog is great with that, too. As long as she has her bed and few favorite toys, she’s good.

    • anna August 24, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      there are more and more dog friendly hotels all over these days. not sure where you’re going and your route, but GL! You can always ask a mom (LOL) to watch Molly for a few secs when you’re on a bathroom break. Moms WITH KIDS. 😉

  6. Meg August 26, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    There is a great website, bringfido.com, that has pet friendly hotels and restaurants. It has been invaluable for planning travel with our dog! For such a long trip, I would book a pet-friendly hotel en route. We have had great luck with Sheraton and Aloft, but check in advance. Then, once you have Molly settled in for the night, you get to go down to the hotel restaurant for dinner! Especially since you can’t take long breaks with a dog in the car, this really helps.

    Love your blog. Keep running!

  7. Krissy August 27, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    What an adorable dog! And, cut blog too, I just stumbled upon it today.

  8. Krissy August 27, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    I mean cute blog (obviously), can’t type today.

  9. Sarah Elliott August 28, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    Hi Andrea!
    I traveled from CO back to DE last summer with my sister and my 9 month old puggle, Huck last August. First of all, let me tell you that my dog is insane, like not normal, mentally unbalanced crazy puppy man, he still is. That said, after the first few hours he really got the hang of the whole thing. I put his giant bed in the back (I drive a Yaris so its tiny) and made sure that he had gone to the dog park that morning before we left. I know you’re trip isn’t quite as long, but I would suggest going to the website doggoes. They have wonderful resources for all things dog-friendly including restaurants, and most importantly dog parks! We planned ahead where we were going to stop along the way and I looked up dog parks and directions to them along the way. So Huck got to play in Kansas City, somewhere in Missouri… and KY, and Virginia! It’s a huge help!!! I made sure that every time I had to stop and pee that he also got to get out and stretch his legs as well. So every place we stopped I peed, then came back to the car to get him and we took a little walk – about 20 mins or so so that he and I both could get some exercise – I just wore my gym clothes the whole time I was driving. Then we’d both have a water break and back in the car we’d go. I like to listen to books on tape and I think this helped soothe him as well.
    Finally, I don’t know if you are a AAA member, but if you visit your local triple AAA they have a great book called “Traveling with your dog” or something and basically its broken down by state and it gives you dog-friendly restaurants, hotels, nearby parks etc. for every city/area in the state. I just keep it in my car now in case we ever need it again. Great for finding a hotel! (funny side note- one of the hotels we stayed in, Huck wouldn’t settle down and I thought he had to go to the bathroom but he just wouldn’t outside – we got back in the room and he pooped in the tub!!! hahahaha. Thank goodness he decided that that was the best place for that.)
    I also brought him some bones/toys to gnaw on when he wasn’t ready to sleep and it went well!
    Best of luck, and since Molly’s a little older, I think you guys will be just fine!

  10. aussiesontherun September 24, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    I am lucky in that my two guys are really good travel buddies. When we do long road trips (RI to MD often) I make certain to bring home with us. So a lot of familiar toys, treats, blankets and whatever else comes with us. If you stop ( you have to, you are human) make it fun fOr her, she gets to go out too and smell all those yummie smells! Dec is going to be ok weather for travelling, so no worries! 🙂 It will be fun. I have been travelling with dogs for 30+ years. No worries!

Leave a Reply

