Miracle Miles 15K Race Recap

5 Oct

Last Saturday morning, my friends and I headed to downtown Orlando for the Miracle Miles 15K, presented by Panera. Miracle Miles benefits the Alexander Center for Neonatology at Winnie Palmer Hospital for Women & Babies. Winnie Palmer is the largest neonatal hospital in the Southeast and the fourth largest in the nation.

My training had gotten me to 8 miles, so I figured this 9.3 mile run would be a good next step. I was partly right.

miracle miles 4

We got there before the sun rose and found one another in the crowd, but before that, it took me quite some time to even find the packet pickup. Can we discuss something for a minute? Why are t-shirts given out before a race? Why do I have to walk all the way back to my car (when I’m already running late) just to take my shirt back to the car. Why is every race like this? #cranky

miracle miles 1

miracle miles 2 

The first 5 or 6 miles went really well because I was doing 2/1 run/walk intervals, and I’d see my running buddy Mike during every interval. At some point, I kind of lost him, and therefore, I lost my motivation to keep moving along at a decent pace. Luckily, the lululemon girls were stationed somewhere around mile 6, which spurred me on a little.

miracle miles 8(obligatory bad race picture)

I cut my intervals back to 1/1 around mile 7 and eventually finished in 2:10:21, a 13:54/mile pace (sloooooow). I was hoping for 2 hours, but I know I haven’t been training as hard as I want to or should be. However, this was an almost 2-minute PR.

miracle miles 5

Sorry this isn’t a very lengthy recap. I really enjoyed this race, but there wasn’t anything special or significant to write about. I liked Track Shack’s race organization, the amount of volunteers out on the course cheering us on, and the water stops. Personally, I ran with my own water bottle because I didn’t know how scattered the water stops would be. For a $27 race registration fee, I felt I got a lot out of it… a tech shirt, a real medal, and good memories with fantastic, supportive friends! I think there was also a bunch of Panera bagels somewhere at the end, but I had to quickly leave for a “day date”.

And the best part was… putting another medal up on the wall!

miracle miles 7

Stay tuned for my Tower of Terror 10-Miler recap. My parents are arriving today and will be here for a week, so I may not be back for a little while.

Happy 35th Birthday to my outrageously awesome big brother, Chad!

big brother

4 Responses to “Miracle Miles 15K Race Recap”

  1. ♔ Bethi October 9, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    Great job on your race!

  2. Steph October 12, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    Lovin’ that medal collection!!!! Keep up the awesome work!!!! 😀

  3. notinjersey November 5, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    are you doing the wine and dine this weekend? it’s going to be my first 1/2 marathon. I just found your blog randomly and was excited to see that you run and like disney!

  4. Trish November 6, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    Hi, my name is Trish. I stumbled across you blog when I was searching to see what color my bib would be for the Princess 1/2 Marathon at DW. I think you have done fantastically!! Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

