A Day in Animal Kingdom

24 Nov

There are many reasons I love being a Walt Disney World cast member, but my most favorite reason is that I can be a guest for a few days when friends and family visit. When Sara mentioned she had never been to Animal Kingdom before, I was so excited! I love seeing the parks through someone else’s eyes.

I had an extremely rough morning at work even before 9am, so hugs from Sara and her husband Bryan were exactly what I needed.

We began our day at Animal Kingdom around 9:30.

Image

The Christmas trees all around the resort are my absolute favorite thing about the holidays.

Right after greeting each other, we headed straight to the safari since it’s best to go in the morning when the animals are wide awake and playing.

Image

Waiting in line.. I look tired!

It was only a 20 minute wait! Woohoo!

We were very excited to see the giraffes, zebras, elephants, rhinos, and lions up close!

Image

ImageImageImage

After the safari, we journeyed down the nature trail where we saw some crazy critters like tarantulas, cockroaches, and such. But my favorite was this female gorilla breastfeeding her baby. Sweet, right?

 

It was then time for our lunch reservation at Yak & Yeti. I ordered the Ahi Tuna Salad, a salad with mixed greens, chilled and seared ahi tuna, julienne veggies, wonton crisps, wasabi aioli, and a ginger dressing. It was HUGE, and I definitely couldn’t finish it all. But it was definitely tasty!

Image

Unfortunately, that was the end of my day with Sara and Bryan because I had to head into work. The next day was filled with pixie dust and magic at the New Fantasyland! Stay tuned.

3 Responses to “A Day in Animal Kingdom”

  1. Sara@Runninginpinkproject November 27, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    AGH! Such a fun day with the “ANIMALS” 😉 We need to visit again soon!!! ❤

  2. karenleahansen November 30, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    I absolutely love the Animal Kingdom Christmas tree!

  3. Jorden December 2, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    OMG! I think I have just stumbled across my ultimate blog..weight loss & WDW! I can’t wait to read more.

    Jorden xx

Leave a Reply

