Tower of Terror 10-Miler Recap

8 Dec

I’m so awesome at slacking on these race recaps. This race was at the end of September, and here it is December!

photo

The Tower of Terror race weekend began with the expo at ESPN’s Wide World of Sports.

wwos

expo 3

expo 4

There was no line for packet pickup!

expo

As per usual, the expo was super crowded, but I did try to take my time to check out all of the booths. I scored 3 pairs of compression socks, a Minnie Mouse themed headband for my full marathon costume, and some GU Chomps.

The next day was the race, and it started at 10pm, so I spent the morning and early afternoon in Magic Kingdom with Alison, who was visiting for her birthday. I was able to catch a little nap before the race, which was essential because the after party would be going on until early morning.

My friends and I caught the buses at Wide World of Sports around 6 or 7 and made it to Hollywood Studios pretty early, so we had time to relax and chit chat before we had to gather in our respective corrals.

on the bus

before race 2

before race

Anne Marie and I were in Corral B.

corral b

There was quite a walk to the start line, which was stationed at the Studios’ toll booths. I really thought this was an odd place to start because you immediately have to swerve to miss the speed bumps and toll booths.

fireworks

The race started off just as any other Disney race… with fireworks!

The weather brought us a humid, muggy, and extremely miserable evening, which resulted in a very sweaty Andrea by mile 1.5.

The course was a straight out-and-back to Animal Kingdom’s toll booths and back to the Wide World of Sports, where we were met with a very dark and crowded dirt trail. Most everyone walked the trail because it was so dark, which made it pretty hard to maneuver around people if you wanted to run, which I did. I was getting my second wind, but I had to walk. Booo. But the run around the baseball friend at WWOS was pretty cool.

ball field 2

ball field

The race itself was pretty non-eventful for me. There wasn’t too much entertainment on the sidelines, and spectators were limited to the ball field at Wide World of Sports and Hollywood Studios. I tried to stick to 2/1 run/walk intervals the whole time, but I switched to walking mostly near the end as I was getting overheated. I did enjoy running through the Studios at night, where we ran by the Lights, Motor, Action set, down New York Street, and around the Sorcerer’s Hat.

studios

I finished in 2:25:51, a pace of 14:19/mile, which is a slower than normal pace for me, but I’ll take it. Like I always say, I need to work on my endurance and speed! For.real.

time splits

course

I have to say, the finish was pretty cool. It was in a “backstage area” facing the creepy Tower of Terror.

after the finish

I gathered my medal and one of the silly “lunch boxes” they hand out to finishers. Just give me a goshdarn bagel instead of these gourmet crackers!

medal

finishers medal 

I quickly found my friends, partook in some beers, and rested a little before enjoying the Disney Villains Bash After Party. Attractions such as the Tower of Terror, Rockin’ Rollercoaster, Toy Story Mania and Star Tours were open for after-partiers. Our sweaty selves had a great time, but unfortunately, some runners had too much fun, and they had to close down the rides for a little while. Surprisingly, we stayed until closing time at 4am.

Overall, it was a fun race. I’d do it again, but only if I’m in better shape and better trained. And let’s hope the weather cooperates next year!

5 Responses to “Tower of Terror 10-Miler Recap”

  1. God breezes December 8, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Congratulations! Great run!!

  2. onthevector December 8, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    Awesome. That race looks like a lot of fun. I’ll be in Florida this Feb for the Princess Half. Going for my Coast to Coast in 2013!

  3. Dara December 8, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    My husband thought after running the 1/2 marathon he would not want to ride such rides as tower of terror and rock n roller coaster! (we did the wine and dine, so we got to ride spaceship earth, nemo, soarin, and maelstrom!) congrats on your race!

  4. Jorden December 9, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    Well done you! I was in WDW that night and it was really humid. I am planning on doing this to coincide with my goal weight trip (when i eventually get there), I think it looks fantastic fun.
    Congrats again!!

  5. Michelle @ Run Eat Travel December 11, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    I used to blog and follow your blog but then stopped. I’ve been back for a few months and glad I found you again. Nice race!

Leave a Reply

